PREV & NEXT

Regluing And The M Word
4/18/2

Tuesday night, Aisai and I are watching TV and I decide to fix my silver ring that keeps breaking again. It was a spin ring, but once the braid of silver that spins broke and I super glued it, it no longer spins.

On Monday, I had put the ring in the little red jewelry polisher solution thing. I took it out after a minute and scrubbed at it with it�s little micro-brush and put it back on. Within 24 hrs, the superglue had let go, so I was regluing it.

Now there�s a freaky word to mess with the ESLers, �regluing.� In fact, I think that would mess with anyone if not taken in context.

I got my traditional supergluing tools: a napkin, a bamboo skewer, and the superglue. I used the skewer to pry the band out of it�s groove enough so that I could drop a drop of glue in and also to leverage it so that part was facing upward. I opened the superglue and squeezed a little. Nothing came out.

By the way, did I mention that this was a stupid thing I did?

I squeezed the tube a little harder and FOOSH. I shot superglue all over my ring. I estimate that rather than one drop, like I needed, I got about 30.

First priority, keep fingers from sticking to anything. This requires a lot of finger movement.

Second priority, keep napkin from sticking to coffee table. Conveniently, I had a packet of duck sauce from a previous takeout dining that I used to keep the supergluey napkin off the coffee table. Or so I thought, since it did stick in one place. Oddly, the napkin didn�t superglue itself to the duck sauce packet. Hmm.

Third priority, make the band go into the right place. I did a fairly bad job at this, after all, it wasn�t my top priority. There is now a 0.5 mm gap between both ends of the band. Not really noticeable, but a very large amount of glue was all over the ring.

And since we know that the jewelry polish breaks down the superglue, after it dried all over the place, with my fingerprints all over the glue and the glue all over my fingers, I dropped the ring in the jewelry polish. The glue came off pretty easily in the areas where it wasn�t caked into some groove, but it did change the glue that was caked into the grooves to a white, cottony look.

Needless to say, I�m not terribly happy with the ring now. I fact, even though I won it from an auction, I found it at the seller�s website for 9.95 with two dollars shipping. I�ve been told to wait by Aisai however, since these are crazy money times.

At work, they�ve cranked down the web filter. If it�s not news or sports, then you can�t get to it unless you use your quota. And I think it�s rather nice that they have given us a quota of one hour which we can goof off with. It lets us know that, every day, the city expects us to dork around on the internet and get paid for it for an hour. In fact, I had to use 10 minutes of my quota to post this.

I started getting a headache yesterday, but decided that I wasn�t going to take any pain stuff and I wasn�t going to give in to it. I feel like mucho crap right now, as I did last night, but I�m not in Big Pain or anything. The light�s really bright and I always feel hungry though, both not good signs. I expect a biggie migraine to come up at any time.

Aisai challenged me last night to not say the name of the small roadster that Mazda introduced about 12 years ago. Not forever, but just 24 hours. And that�s 24 hours from last night at 9:30. I think I was telling her about how I�d gotten home and loaded Gran Turismo 3 so I could race one, and I was constantly hassled by a Del Sol while doing so. I went upstairs and got on the internet and compared it to the Del Sol. Not a good comparison for a person wanting a sporty car.

NASA Contact also brought me a copy out of a 1990 Consumer Report when it was first introduced. I might actually have that, but I think the years of CR that I scavenged from Aisai�s mom when she was throwing them out are 1991-1994.

And my right eye is bugging me. Like I have a very fine cat hair in it, but I can�t find the thing.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com