PREV & NEXT

Cars and Cat Pee, Again
4/16/2

When I drove home yesterday, I had the windows down on the Kronos. I had cleaned up the interior so that little gas station receipts wouldn�t blow around when I got onto 565.

I guess it�s nice to have a 70 mph road on your way home.

The drive home with the windows down was not only a �Hurray, it�s Spring� thing, but also a pining for the Miata that I plan to buy in October.

I want a black one or a silver one. The problem is, of the M1 variety [which is really the only kind I can justify buying] the only silver years are 1990-1992. That�s a little long in the tooth. Two years longer than the Kronos. Color�s I can�t have are yellow, which screams gay, or red. I had a red 323 and the Mazda red just doesn�t hold up. Well, I suppose it did fine since I really didn�t treat the 323 that well.

But that 323 loved me. [Wipes tear from eye.]

After my enjoyable drive home where I listened to the new Garbage album, which is starting to grow on me, but only with an effort, I mowed half of the back yard.

Aisai and I traded this year. Normally I do all the dishes and she mows the yard. But this spring we switched. I�m not so sure that I wasn�t duped on the timing of the decision. I�ll have to keep my guard up in the fall to make sure that we don�t decide to switch back to me doing dishes and her mowing.

I had mowed the front yard and sprayed with Die Weed Die last Thursday. Hmm, now that I think about it, I wonder if that had anything to do with my Thursday migraine.

I only mowed half of the back yard since I was really getting overheated. I think I�ll mow in shorts next time.

So I come in, and take off my jeans and shoes so that I cool down faster. I leave my jeans lying on the floor and my bad bad cat, Zapato, peed on them.

Yes, my cat urinated on my sweaty jeans.

I always take these things as personal betrayals. We washed the jeans and I scrubbed the carpet.

I hate carpet. I want to rip it all out and get some kind of laminate flooring. Heck, last night, as I was scrubbing, I was thinking that some cheap linoleum would be better than carpet. Even with my odd tendency to sleep on the floor to �reset� my back every couple of months, just get rid of the carpet. There is no way you can clean carpet completely. We do have a Bissell Little Green steam cleaner, but it�s not very good and using the Scrubbing Bubbles bathroom cleaner like you would automotive upholstery cleaner on the carpet actually seems to work better. It�s just the repeating that irritates me.

When I cleaned the glass in my car, I missed a spot in the lower left corner of the windshield. I can�t normally see it unless it�s backlit, like it is every day on the way to and from work. But when I get home, I can�t see it and forget about it.

I forwarded Aisai some Miata trivia/propaganda yesterday. She was home sick, which I forgot. When I told her I�d forwarded it, she said, �You don�t have to convince me.� Though I do realize that my choice to get a Miata and her acceptance might be because we are starting to realize we can�t have kids. And I�m not going to have them fertilize ten eggs and then kill the other nine we don�t want. And I don�t want ten kids. Yikes.

Miata 5-speed Mileage Estimates

City: 29 MPG; 9.7L/100km
Highway: 40 MPG; 7.1L/100km

The Museum of Modern Art in New York City hosts an exhibit of excellence in modern design. Featured is a Miata taillight.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com