PREV & NEXT

Weekend: Pre-Car-Falling-Apart
4/8/2

Friday night Aisai got home and though we said we wouldn�t eat out, we did. However, when one says they won�t eat out, and then chooses to, you can�t go eat lobster, you eat at one of the lower restaurants. In fact, somewhere that does great sandwiches and is super crowded for lunch is a good thing to do.

And Aisai wouldn�t let us go to Subway. Hmmph.

Sure, I might be ready to collect twelve uncut stones and make an altar to the foot long roast beef with cucumbers that Subway makes, but Aisai is a cucumber subway unbeliever.

We went to McAlister�s Deli. It�s a chain doing what The Mill used to do in Huntsville without being a chain. Aisai got tortilla soup in a bread bowl and a Caesar salad for $5.98 and I got the club. I say �the club� without using capitals or using the actual name they used, because, frankly, if you walk up to the counter and ask for the club, you get the club.

Aisai�s food was generous and nummy. My sandwich was a sandwichy sandwich. But Aisai let me eat half her bread bowl.

I�ve had three TV shows that I like get cancelled lately. Invader Zim, while not officially cancelled, has not had an order for any more shows made. I believe that 1996�s Sifl & Olly also never got officially cancelled and there is actually a third season in the can which we�ll never see.

The second show was No Boundaries on The WB. The producers are currently looking for another network to carry it.

And now that Under One Roof has had some huge percentage of it�s carriers drop it after the third episode, or was it the second, it has now hung it up.

I�d hate to go on a reality challenge show and then, after doing all that backbiting and scheming, not have my neighbors see me for the lil� Darth Postwood that I am.

And not only did UPN drop Under One Roof, but they also stopped buying The Amazing Race off CBS and airing it two days later. I had to make the tough decision, �Greg The Bunny or The Amazing Race?�

I chose The Amazing Race since Greg The Bunny will be shown in reruns. This is the same logic that made me never see but one The Tick last fall.

And oddly, I didn�t have a headache on Friday. I had slept late since I felt bad, but once I got to work, I hit the road and dealt with people who lack the understanding that they are destroying their company.

I, personally, have never been around when we shut down a business since they are terribly dangerous environmentally. But I�m a key player in this one. Well, I was on Friday. Now the state and everyone else is hopping on board. I�m sure you�ll see it on our local news [and you can find the websites at Yahoo or something].

But the frustration that I found with the guy lying to me and doing what he was doing, I think it got some primeval endorphin to pop out of some hidden gland and temporarily cure my headache.

I had gotten some Imitrex the day before, four sample pills of 50 mg each, but hadn�t used them since I was waiting for the big one. The rules for Imitrex work like this. I can take a pill, and if it takes away some pain, then I can take another. But I can�t take more than four in one day [as if I had more than four] and I can�t treat more than four headaches a month. Why? Because it�s dangerous.

Imitrex is a cerebral vasoconstrictor. And you thought they just had those on Star Trek.

Saturday, we woke up around eight and got going. I was nursing a migraine as we went to Aisai�s mom�s house to take away a camryfull of hazardous household chemicals to the �No Questions Asked� Household Hazardous Waste Collection Center.

When we got back, we kidded Aisai�s mom about it. First, Aisai said that they wouldn�t take it. Aisai�s mom�s face got shocked/upset but I went �Bah� which let her know it was a joke. Aisai got onto me for ruining her joke. However, I said that we told the lady there, �My mother-in-law goes to flea markets and buys this stuff up. We have to take it away from her each month.� Ha ha ha.

We ate at Subway [Ha] and by that time my head hurt quite a bit and I was very sensitive to light. I took half a Lortab 5 [a lortab 2.5?] and we decided to bum around that afternoon. I wanted to look at the Hyundai Tiburon we passed on the way to the Subway.

$20k for a Hyundai is a funny joke. Ho ho ho, He he he. But actually, the car was solid. I didn�t drive, but I sat in it. It�s heavy, about 3k. But it does have a 181 hp engine which I understand has a peaky torque peak. It�s better to have a flat one so you get pull at a wider range. But, if I did want one, I could wait two years and buy it at half its current value. Hyundais are hard lessons in depreciation.

But that�s not all of Saturday...my car also fell apart. [see next entry]

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com