PREV & NEXT

How's It Hanging? Your Radiator, That Is.
4/8/2

Ok, this is like a part two of my weekend. I�m thinking there will be three parts since I tried to write the two main stories in one, but didn�t even touch either really, and I�m already on part II.

When Aisai and I got to her mom�s house to pick up the household hazardous waste and take it to the Household Hazardous Waste Collection Center, I folded down the back seats of the Kronos and...

Yeah, you guessed it. Something either broke then or was broken earlier. The left side hinge on the 60 side of the 40/60 Fold Down Rear Seat was messed up. I clicked the seat back in place. So now it�s broke and I can�t fold down my seats without one flying all over the place. Best not to touch it.

But that�s not THE falling apart.

After we looked at the new car, which I swear had nothing to do with my car falling apart, we did what Aisai wanted to do, go look at a subdivision in the middle of nowhere. It was a curbless subdivision and you could barely hear traffic from it. I dunno about that kind of thing.

I noticed that my car�s skid plate in the front was hanging rather low. So I looked at it. And on the left it was hanging loose. And on the right it was hanging loose. And on the right side it also had what appeared to be the radiator resting on it.

I got down on the ground and looked and the radiator like thing, which wasn�t new [and I just got a new radiator], was not just resting on the skid plate which was only attached at the back, but also there was not a single screw holding the little radiator in. Very scary.

I have driven with that component loose for about a month now, and with the skid plate detached in the front. How scary is that.

We drove carefully back to civilization and to an Auto Zone. I asked the dude for the screws needed to hold my radiator in place. �I�d need to see one.� Well, heck, if I had one, I�d just get some more. Also, if I had one, I might just wait until Monday and carpool in Aisai�s 626 until then. His option for me is that I go to the screw isle and buy packets of screws for $1.19 and test them to see if they worked.

Screw that. [hee hee]

Went home called Meineke, which isn�t in the spell check and Heineken is suggested, and they said bring it in. The radiator type thing was a condenser for the air conditioning. They attached it and the skid plate, which actually had damaged hole things [they didn�t tell me, I looked, they just fixed it], and it was $35 for about 40 minutes work.

I was happy, kind of. I still had a headache brewing and at this point we went home.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com