PREV & NEXT

All The World's A Bearing Spindle
3/29/2

I feel like crap, so this will be short.

We got Aisai�s 626 back yesterday. It was $346 and it drives like a dream now. I was talking with the mechanic...I think our garage is too down-to-earth to call them �techs� with a straight face...and found out that I shouldn�t be driving around with bad bearings because they can lock up.

When the front bearing locks, it would probably damage the axle and the transmission and could rip the wheel off by...[drum roll please]...shearing the bearing spindle.

Hey, remember that wreck I had a few months after Clark�s put new bearings on the left side of my car? The one where inexplicably the bearing spindle sheared when we were going 65 mph on a five mile long elevated highway? The wreck where the wheel came off and landed in an intersection four stories down and our car skidded on it�s suspension without brakes for around 1200 feet?

That was the left side. The new bearing on the back locked.

The bearing I need replacing is the last of the �Clark�s bearings.�

Aisai and I carpooled this morning since I�m paranoid about the car. I forgot to get my current mix CD out of my car so after dropping Aisai off I listened to the gangsta rap station.

When we got home last night from bowling with the college kids, we had to watch Survivor. Mainly because I am playing those prediction games again. A good source of info has turned out to be one of them that allows us to see what other people are choosing. It�s www.surviiivormarket.com. The person in first place had been selling the Mirarotu people short all week and then, three hours before the show, cashed that out and sold five million worth of Gabe short.

My theory is that there are some people out there who already know what happened. After all, this stuff was back in December. I sold all I had and sold Gabe short. Gabe got booted.

And example of why I think this person knows everything is that we all started with one million. I�ve never sold anything at a loss and thought I�d been doing pretty good with now having 1.2 million. But Vindeen had seven million yesterday. He/She probably has over nine now.

But we stayed up until 12:30 last night. Stupid Postwood.

Tonight, depending on whether Aisai�s mom wants to go and how the reviews are, we might go see Panic Room. I�m interested to see how the director of Se7en and The Fight Club does when he tones down his flicks for a chick audience. But Aisai will definitely see Lord Of The Rings again since it has that four minute bit on the end now from the next movie. Plus, when we saw it the first time, Dinoback�s hubby picked it apart on the way home. I had not wanted to see it with him, and said so, since I knew he�d mock it on the way home. He promised he wouldn�t but did anyhow.

Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on Aisai for talking me into it.

One criticism was that �All movies are just turning into videogames.� This was said about the scene where they are running from the giant fire demon thing. Hey, I�d LOVE a video game like that.

Actually, I think that�s what Onimusha is like.

And to end this not so short entry, a joke from lileks.com:

Didja hear about the duck who walks into a bar, and says to the bartender, �Do you realize I am an improbable creation whose existence is accepted by the person hearing the joke, because they know that unqualified acceptance of a talking duck in a bar will facilitate the unveiling of a clever retort at the joke�s conclusion?�

And the bartender says, �If this was a New Yorker cartoon, you�d be a dog.�

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com