PREV & NEXT

Nine Hole Golf
3/28/2

I just read a review at Cars.com for the last car that I had, a Mazda 323. I actually read the review written in 1993, and I had a 1990. Not a good idea to read praising news stories about your former car when you have one car in the shop and the other needing, among other things, a new headliner and front wheel bearings.

The headliner is not noticeable currently, thanks to black duct tape. To do the headliner and fix that sunvisor that Aisai broke would be around $140. I think the front right bearing will be around $200.

NASA Contact asked me last night if the bearing noise was driving me crazy. Well, not until you mentioned it, no. Now it�s on the short list of things to get fixed.

Since Aisai�s car is in the shop, we carpooled home yesterday. It�s nice spending time with Aisai. But she wasn�t feeling too well and took a nap once we got home. I used the maps that came in the latest Playstation magazine to find hidden packages on the first island of Grand Theft Auto 3.

I restarted the game a few months ago, but since I�d played it a lot back then, I was rather burnt out on it. I�m back to being a GTA3 bad boy again.

Oh, and my Half.com order for You Don�t Know Jack got cancelled. Lazy seller didn�t reply in the first two days. I picked up another one for 33 cents more.

Yesterday I had started the day feeling lousy. By around 11 a.m., I felt pretty good. But then around four in the afternoon, I started feeling badly.

It�s almost irritating having those stupid Lortab 10�s for my headaches. When will I ever think that I�ll need those. I�d have to have blood coming out of my ears, eyes, and nose to take one. When I wanted some ibuprofen last night, we weren�t at home anymore.

We got home and watched The Osbornes, or as much of it as MTV showed between 8:30 and nine. I am so sick of MTV not knowing what time it is. In today�s world, there is no excuse for a major media outlet to be off by a minute either way. I missed Ozzy throwing firewood through his neighbor�s window.

Lately Aisai have been playing a card game that Poolphish taught me and the others that were over last Thursday. Aisai was still at the Underground Lair�s Secret Stupids meeting. It�s called Nine Hole Golf:

For over two people, you might want to combine two decks of cards. When we had six people playing we used two decks. Shuffle the decks together and deal out nine cards to each person. They don�t look at their cards. Each player arranges their cards, face down, in a 3x3 square. They are then allowed to flip over any three of these cards. The remainder of the deck is set to the side and one card from it is turned over to form the discard pile.

The goal is to get the smallest score possible. Aces count one point, all number cards are their face value, and face cards are ten, except kings which are nothing. Jokers are used in the decks and are wonderful things to get since they are �2 points. Another element is that if you can get three cards in a row, but not diagonal, you can remove those cards.

The first player to the left of the dealer begins by taking a card from the deck or the top one off the discard pile. The player then chooses whether to replace one of his cards. A player may not decide not to exchange cards once he sees what card he�s flipped over. Both flipped over and non-flipped cards may be replaced. The card replaced, or the card taken if the player chooses not to replace a card with the new card, is placed face up on the discard pile.

The next player has the same opportunity. If taking a card from the discard pile, only the top card can be taken. The last round is signaled when the first player to flip over all their cards flips their last card. Play continues until everyone else has taken one more turn and then all unflipped cards are flipped and points counted.

There�s some serious strategy involved, and the rules are simple. That�s why I think Asiai likes it so much.

I'm the number seven hit at MSN for "The Making of Jason X."

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com