PREV & NEXT

Spring Is Here
3/25/2

Since Saturday morning, I�ve felt pretty good. In fact, I�m so accustomed to feeling like crap, that I�m almost giddy.

Friday night, Aisai and I went to a matinee of Blade II and then picked up Chinese food on the way home.

So, how was Blade II? If you read Aint It Cool News or Corona, you know that the fanboys are thrilled with it. If you look at Rotten Tomatoes and see the percentage of real world [aka, non-fanboy] reviewers that liked it, the percentage is around 34. But what is the Postwood slant on all this?

It was very actiony. It �rocked.� You know the first battle scene in Blade One? Where the vampire�s are having a rave and do the bloodbath thing and Blade comes in an kills a few hundred? Well, the whole movie is like that. It�s action action action, and I really liked it. But [and you knew there�d be a but], the movie never lets you sit back and soak in the Bladeworld. You only see three humans this time around, so basically everyone on screen can die besides the Daywalker and you wouldn�t care. Making a vampire into a love interest was a bad idea in my opinion. Del Toro must have watched too much Buffy.

We finally seem to have broken Aisai of her Mongolian Beef addiction. We had General Tso�s chicken. It was really good, as was the soup. A good eggdrop soup is a wonderful thing. Usually if Aisai and I go to Ding How II, I get the hot and sour soup, so I miss out on the eggdrop. But the amount of soup they give you in the combo is enough for two. In fact, we get the combo and add an eggroll so we can both have one and it�s about eight dollars and we�re stuffed with good food.

We got The One and Ghosts of Mars on DVD from Movie Gallery and watched The One on Friday night. It was good light fare. I think I�ll enjoy the commentary track better than the movie itself.

Saturday, we woke around eight. Aisai was in a good mood and bouncing off the walls and singing as she tried to get me to get out of bed. I felt like crap. I dressed in dark clothing and wore my big black boots. Aisai first dragged me to Home Depot and then we went to eat with some former co-workers of hers who were in town to have lunch with her. A good time was had by all and I think the sun started making me feel better.

That afternoon I was in charge since Aisai took us to Home Depot in the morning. I tried to show Aisai what the Toyota Echo drove like, but the sales people were ignoring us and also two black ladies. Basically, if you weren�t a middle aged white lady, they didn�t want to talk to you. Jerks.

So, Aisai and I went up to Monte Sano State Park and did a little hike. The little hike didn�t seem that little as we are out of shape. I could blame the elevation, but I know better.

That evening we went to a get together of the college age and had fun. Sunday was a typical Sunday, except that I accidentally took a nap with my contacts in.

Monday...well, that�s today. It�s sunny and beautiful outside.

I might shave my head tonight since the cold seems to be past.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com