PREV & NEXT

More Adventure I Don't Want
3/21/2

Well, what I�ve been saying for the last month is, �I feel like I have some low level virus or something.� Basically, I�ve felt like crap. And occasionally, I get a really bad headache.

Last week�s headache was bad enough that I decided to overreact and I took a lortab5. This last Saturday, I didn�t overreact when I took half of a lortab5 when my head hurt. Tuesday night, I got another bad headache, and took a full lortab5, and tried to stay awake through Smallville. I did, and then I wanted to watch Battlebots, but Aisai forced me to go to sleep.

I woke up Wednesday feeling like crap. I missed a half-day of work, again. I�ve missed several half days in this lame month of feeling like crap with occasional massive headaches.

Aisai made me an appointment with Dr. Conway at 3:00 p.m. yesterday.

I can�t tell you how much I like Dr. Conway better than Dr. Lowrey. Dr. Lowrey seemed always to be afraid to touch me. Not that Conway is all over me or anything, but she�ll poke around if she needs to. And yes, I tend to always have female doctors.

That man doctor I had was fine, the two times that I saw him, but he had a waiting list a mile long and really didn�t know any more than any other doctor. Conway will bring out textbooks to show me what she�s talking about. Like when I had a cyst on the flexural tendon of my �long finger.� That�s what they call your middle finger in Doctorland.

So, I go and end up sitting near this gal who�s medium alternative looking in the waiting room. Looking around, I realize we�ve made up the punk rock section of the waiting room with her clothing and hair and my dark clothing, silver rings, and goatee.

But my head isn�t shaved now. I don�t feel like dealing with the cold.

So, Dr. Conway tests me to see if I have had a stroke, or something. Walk on heels, then tiptoes, then palms up with heels together and eyes closed...touch your nose, arms higher...she tries to make me lose my balance by pushing me. But not hard, and I didn�t do anything but waver a little.

She asks me a lot of questions and they take my blood. She tells me to pick up some Excedrin Migraine and gives me a prescription for 35 lortab10. I didn�t even know such a thing existed. I think Dr. Conway trusts me with heavy-duty medication since I don�t tend to use it.

When she asked if I had anything for the pain, I said I had a few Lortab5 left over from my hand surgery, some leftover Naproxin from something, and that Aisai had thrown away my last two Skelaxin just because they were two years old. Actually, I think they�re more like four years old.

But the big news is that today at 1:30 p.m. I have a MRI of my head. I only have a moderate headache now, which is par for the course at this point, but I�m also terribly nauseous.

I get nauseous and nauseated mixed up. Whichever one means I feel bad, and not that I make others want to puke, that�s what I�m talking about. Whatever means I�m not nauseating others.

I would stay home, but I�m using up sick leave.

Time moves so slow when you feel like crap and have to stay sitting up and conscious.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com