PREV & NEXT

Geek Is Such A Harsh Word
2/14/2

Yesterday, I got home and Aisai didn�t feel well. I watched Battlebots while Aisai called her sister who lives outside London. Aisai watched the middle two minutes with me but mostly did other things. Then she took over the TV and I puttered.

And no normal puttering around the house was this. [Pardon, if I got a little Yoda speak there.] This was excellent puttering and it involved mounting my tripod in the Kronos.

I tried the area near the floorboard in the passenger seat, but it wouldn�t hold. I tried several different versions of it and gave up. Then I decided to try to mount it inbetween the seats.

I know I�m talking like the Kronos doesn�t have back seats, but it does, if you are a fish or some other animal with no legs. The Kronos will hold me, Aisai, and two young snakes.

The way that I got the tripod mounted was that I decided that one leg would go in that cubby hole behind the rear cup holders [yeah, two cup holders in the back. Snakes with drinks.]. I put it there and then realized that the rigidity of the tripod would come in handy. I made it push the other two legs hard into the sides of the seats. Then I extended the legs and had them push on the ground. I tightened all of it and it seemed really firm.

I mounted the TR517 and took the Star Wars DVD and Aisai�s movie, which I forgot what it was, back to the video store. I, being a person who doesn�t have to drive in rush hour traffic, didn�t realize that leaving then was stupid.

The traffic was horrible. Madison is a small little city full of elitists, but it still suffers from inadequate traffic provisions at peak hours.

Provisions. That seems like the wrong word. Like you could go to the cupboard and pull out a traffic light and an extra lane.

I�m running over bovine shoppers headed into Kroger�s when Aisai calls me on my cell phone. I speak to her for a very short time [and I should know, I have it on tape since I was testing the camera rig] and she wants me to pick up some ginger ale. I have to make a right, right, right, and right to get on the street that I need to be on facing the direction that I want to go. I finally get to Publix, which I chose since:

  1. I hate Kroger�s.
  2. I saw how busy Kroger's was and foolishly thought that Publix would be better.

Publix was not better. In fact, Publix may have been worse. I got a one liter of Canada Dry and a two liter of Publix Cheapo ginger ale. They didn�t have a two liter of Canada Dry and I wasn�t going to trust my sick feeling Aisai to some discount ginger ale.

I get home and watch the tape. Excellent view, sound, but the lighting is bad since I drove at twilight into the sun, but it was just a test. My only criticism is that the tripod is so rigid that it can really hear the car vibrating though the legs. The engine is loud when accelerating, but it�s not as loud as it is in the tape.

I�ve decided that I�m not taping over anything that I record, so I�ll have to pickup some more Hi8 tapes. I have one that is Family only and the one that I�m goofing around with is for me to goof around with.

I had a tape where Gary Dezenberg and I drove around in my 1984 Honda Accord LX hatchback back in 1986. Huntsville has changed so much since then. I-565 wasn�t here then and I remember that we drove by Traylor Island.

How many Huntsvillians know where Traylor Island was? 50% of the people here weren�t here 15 years ago.

Since the Hi8 tapes are so small, I can document many areas. I definitely need to get the area where the Toyota plant is going in. As soon as that thing opens there�ll be Taco Bells and bagel shops popping out of the ground all around it. Some upscale apartments...yadda yadda.

Oh, and the 626 is in the shop to see why it�s check engine light stays on.

And did I mention that I love those little mini-CDs? Maybe we�ll go to grocery shopping tonight and Hel-Mart will have them cheaper than that online place.

Survivor 4 starts in two weeks.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com