PREV & NEXT

The Point Of Diminishing Returns
2/8/2

Aisai and I talked about getting rid of the Kronos today.

It�s getting its radiator replaced. The shop I picked, based on that Aisai said it had gotten a small business award, seemed odd. Odd in the fact that they quoted me $298 on the phone and it was $420 by the time I walked out the door.

Now, all the stuff that Mr. Dude that I went to Dead Astronaut High School with suggested is legitimate. One of the reasons that the radiator wasn�t leaking faster is that it�s all gunked up inside. So a pressure flush makes sense. Also, as long as we have it open, let�s put a thermostat in. I�ve been very fortunate in the three thermostats that have gone bad on me in my 17 years of driving that they�ve all broken in the open position. It�s a three dollar part and it takes $30 worth of labor to put it in.

I had to call Aisai to see if we had $420 clear. We did. I asked her what the absolute highest this could go is. She said $425. Yikes.

I told the guy. He said my radiator wouldn�t be coming in until noon today. But all that other stuff he can do before hand. He didn�t say that. I�m saying that. Hopefully it�ll be done by the end of the day.

Hey, granted I�ve spent $1000 on my car in the last week, but when this is done, it�ll only need one more major repair.

Tomorrow we�ll look at Aisai�s possible future cars: the Nissan Altima or the Mazda 626 V6.

I�d love to replace the Kronos with a 1989 Toyota MR2 Supercharged.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com