PREV & NEXT

Mention Doughnuts In The Title
1/25/2

Funny how information comes around. About a month ago, I was reading Zoe�s page and she said something about them driving some big distance to get to a Krispy Kreme. I don�t remember how far it was, but I equate it as my driving to Decatur to get, say, a Lime Freeze at Steak n� Shake.

We still don�t have a Steak n� Shake here. What is with that?

I assumed that the Canadian version of Krispy Kreme was something special since she seemed to make a big deal of it. Not until I was reading some water pollutiony discussion group did I realize that, outside of the south, Krispy Kreme is a much revered and looked forward to thing.

For trivia purposes, the average Krispy Kreme uses about 100,000 gallons of water a month and has a BOD5 concentration of 11,000 ppm.

Well, in the post the guy wrote, he went on and on about how good Krispy Kreme was yadda yadda yadda.

Another interesting Krispy Kreme story is that in the first ever store, they used a chromium bath to �clean� their trays. Well, under current EPA law this is not only metal finishing, but using chromium...hoo, buddy...expensive as you need to do a pretreatment thing to get rid of the hexavalent chrome which doesn�t just precipitate out if you fiddle around with the pH, like most stuff does. They were never considered a metal finisher, but it makes a neat story [at least in my profession]. They were told once to quit and no Krispy Kreme has used that since.

I�m not sure if the workers there can reproduce though. Ouch. �I got hex-chrome poisoning working at Krispy Kreme.�

If I wanted a Krispy Kreme doughnut, I'd just go a block out of my way on the way home. I don't ever do this, because I'm not a big doughnut person. But if I was a doughnut person, I'd be a big doughnut person. Girthy.

But there are some things that we have to drive for. That Steak n� Shake is one of them. Also, Aisai and I might hop up to Nashville tomorrow to see Brotherhood of the Wolf. It was limited release, and then it widened, and the widening didn�t catch us. Which to me, means we won�t get it.

The mini-cd I burned last night has fourty-something Daft Punk songs.

I think that�s a little too much Daft Punk.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com