PREV & NEXT

Hee Haw
1/23/2

I�m not writing much this week. Mainly because I�m tired and just don�t feel like it. But that doesn�t mean I�m not thinking of things that I want to say. I thought of one on Tuesday.

Tennessee had their special quarter come out. I�ve not seen it. It�s got a guitar on the back, or so I�ve heard.

The guitar isn�t bad, really, but being about to put an icon that is about that state on the back of a quarter is a rare thing to come along. If they�d put Elvis, people would be able to figure out what state it is.

Georgia took the weenie way out. They did an outline of the state with a peach in it and some random stuff filling up the negative space. It looked like it was designed by a government committee, which it was.

Alabama�s quarter hasn�t come out. The obvious cotton boll is a sure bet if they�re going to Georgia their opportunity away. A cotton boll by itself would be better. I�d like to see a boll weevil in good detail.

One of the best quarters out there is the one for Vermont or Delaware or some other stinky New England state. It�s of a tree. Heck, I bet Alabama has more trees than whoever it was. We�re not named the Cherokee word for �Big Woods� for nothing.

But what does Alabama have that no one else does? Lots of places have cotton, even if we do supply a very lot of it to the world. My mind was fresh with having Monday off. There was one thing that we have, an internationally recognized icon, which no other state can claim.

Alabama should but Martin Luther King Jr. on the back of it�s quarter.

Now, that said, it will never happen. It�s more likely that Bear Bryant show up, which isn�t a horrible idea�what am I saying? It�s horrible. It�s also more likely that our current Governor would pull some �you owe me� Good Old Boy trick and get his face on the back.

There�s one reason why MLK wouldn�t get the back of the quarter for Alabama.

It�s even more likely that they�d have a picture of George Wallace on the back.

C�mon, Alabama. Prove me wrong. You know that Martin Luther King would be the best thing on the back of the quarter.

After all, no one knows what Helen Keller looks like.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com