PREV & NEXT

Indiana Jones Never Had It So Good
1/2/2

I�m not awfully fond of adventure. And others, they may read this and say, �That�s not adventure.� but, hey, let it happen to you.

First, some backstory.

Aisai and I have been married ten years. We got married when we were both in college and were very poor. I graduated and when we were looking for a job for me, which took six months since I had set my standards too high, we went into a little debt. Six thousand dollars on a credit card type debt.

We paid that off, but since we always keep a credit card around to be used �like a fire extinguisher� we would accumulate more debt. Well, mainly because we were using our little fire extinguisher to eat out with.

So, a few months ago, we did what needed to be done. We cancelled all credit cards and only have our money to get us by. Since Redstone Credit Union offers a Visa check card, we can buy stuff online. We never did get in horrible debt like you hear that some people do, but debt just nags at me. I hate paying for stuff my past self enjoyed.

Aisai and I tend to get our Christmas shopping done early. We were finished before November started for the most part. This freed us up to spend a little here and there, eating out and entertaining. And just recently, like yesterday afternoon, we got our balance very very low. We�re always lowest at the beginning of the month.

So, when we get out to Aisai�s car last night, it won�t start. So I jump start it. We drive home.

I�ll tell the story faster now as Aisai just called and needs me. I told her to give me five minutes and I�ll leave for home.

Aisai turns the car off in the garage and I ask her to try to crank it. It�s about a 15 min drive from her mom�s to our house. The car is dead. Dead dead deadski. It won�t even make a buzz or a faint glimmer in the interior bulb.

I push the car out and we crank it again. We let it run for 30 min. We set the kitchen timer. After it finished, Aisai turned it off and tried to crank it. No dice.

So, the plan is that I wake up, shower, dress, and jump start her car. We still haven�t gone grocery shopping so I get McDonald�s breakfast burritos on the way to work. The plan was followed this morning, and I must say, I�m pretty sick of those burritos. If it was just anything but sausage in them. Sausage is like dog food.

Now, I just got a call from Aisai. She goes out to the car and it�s not running.

A little car theory here. The battery is dead, of course. But the alternator Must be working since once the car is started it�s still able to run. A car with a dead alternator has to run off the battery, but since hers is dead, yadda yadda yadda. But we just bought a new, humongo battery recently for it. So, I�m hoping that when we get to the shop, meaning AutoZone where we bought the battery, that it�s the battery.

But it shouldn�t be the battery, but it can�t be the wiring since I hook up battery to battery. [Yes, I know it�s better to do red and car, but I�m a lazy puppy and I�ve never messed up.] So it my battery hooked to hers can start it, her battery should be able to start the car. And if the alternator can run this same car that the battery can start, the wiring must be in place, or so says uninformed me.

So, I�m off to rescue my damsel in distress. I don�t know how distressed she is, but I�m a little stressy since, remember that stuff about us having no credit card and no money?

It better be that new battery.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com