PREV & NEXT

TR517, TR517, La La La La La, TR517
12/28/1

Whooo hoooo. Snipety snipe snipe.

I just won my auction on eBay for a Sony TR517 camcorder. If you look on the internet, it seems to be the one that all the paranormal investigators use. It also has some system by which the computer, if connected with a cable, can control the zoom.

I regretted the loss of eSnipe when it became a pay only service. eSnipe would go bid for you in the last seven seconds and, if your amount was high enough, would take the item. I got some stuff that way in the past. But then they went into a pay site with some odd point system.

Bidtamer is what I used today. It has free and it has pay. I did the free since there are still some 517s coming up later this week. The free service on Bidtamer will come in at the last 10 seconds, but I noticed that they actually came in between 12 and 11. If you pay a buck to them, they�ll do it in the last three.

The logic here is that the free service is actually inferior to the better services offered by both Bidtamer and eSnipe. When I came in at 10ish seconds, if there was another paying sniper, then I�d lose it.

And there was a sniper, all right, but not a very good one. A fellow named Kingfisher2, or something like that, came in at 30 seconds left and took it from the previous person. His bid would have taken it away from me if I hadn�t checked in and found that it was sitting around $161ish. I upped my snipe amount to $175.99 rather than the $167.50. One of the nice things about snipe services is that you don�t change the price when you change your bid with them. You can also cancel a snipe without anyone knowing it.

So, Kingy zips in at, what he thinks is the last minute, which technically was, and takes it. But Kingy didn�t know that I was waiting for my snipe to hit. He only bid $170. Those cameras tend to go for around $230. There was one in the completed items for around $144 but it had no battery, charger, or cables. Mine is complete.

Woodle woodle woodle I�m a poodle.

[and I dance a little jig]

I still haven�t told the story of how I got my computer back. But that takes too long for today.

Now I just need a capture card.

[Note: And no, this isn�t the Sony camera with Nightshot that can see through clothes. This is the second generation Nightshot which actually works much better in 0 LUX.]

Whoo hoo.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com