PREV & NEXT

Thanky Turkey Day: I Wanna Work
11/22/1

Here it is, Thanksgiving. What am I doing? Sitting on my butt. Where am I? At work.

See, I have to come in to work to set up lab stuff. Labman would do this on any other day, but it�s Thanksgiving, so the office is closed, but due to our permit, we must still test our samples for compliance. Labman also has his birthday today. Thus, kindhearted Postwood is running the lab.

Labman called out to the plants and told them that I�d be coming in at 6:45. I came in at 6:45 and the guy from Plant 2 was here and I signed the chain of custody form and took his samples. I got in, looked in the fridge, and there was nothing there.

After a little waiting, I called out to Plant 4. They didn�t have anyone driving the samples in yet. It�s a 45 minute drive. I tried calling Plant 5 but there was no answer.

I made some coffee and took yesterday�s fecal coliform tests out of the water bath. Very low numbers are always a good thing when you�re talking about fecal coliform.

I went back to my office and checked my list. I could still bubble the water for BODs, to raise the dissolved oxygen content to around 8 ppm, and I could pick up the samples here. I called Plant 5 and got someone. They also didn�t have anyone driving them in yet, and it is about a 30-minute drive. I did let them know that I can�t do anything until I get the samples in.

I know I�m not writing this irritated style, but I�m quite irritated.

I picked up the samples here and started the water bubbling.

And now, I wait.

I have less than five hours to do this work and still get to my parent�s house in time for lunch at 1. At this point, I literally can do nothing. It�s fun to goof off if you have stuff to do and you still have time to do it later. But I don�t have time to do it later, and I don�t have stuff to do until they bring it in.

I know. Boring work entry. But not much happened yesterday. And yeah, I could list stuff I�m thankful for, but let me soak in the irritation I have for these slackers first.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com