PREV & NEXT

What I Did Over My Weekend
11/13/1

So, Friday, knowing that I was probably not going to find Grand Theft Auto 3 at my Movie Gallery, I printed out a listing of all the Movie Galleries in the area using the Yahoo thingy.

I picked my home address and it listed all the Movie Galleries in order of closeness. I only printed page one, since I�m not going to Tennessee for it. And why only Movie Gallery? Because when you have money, you can destroy the competition and become a monopoly, that�s why.

I drove to my Movie Gallery in Madison and went in and it seemed out. I asked if one had just come in and if it was behind the counter. Nope, they were all out. Yeah, all two of them.

Why, if it�s a movie, do they get a million of the new hot release, but if it�s a game, they get two?

I go to the car and get my list and my cell phone and call. I call the one on 72 in Madison, the one on 72 (but called University Drive at that point) in Huntsville, the one on Oakwood, the one on Whitesburg, the one next to Guadalajara down south, and I may have even called the one on Winchester. If it was on the list, and within 20 miles, I called it. The answer was always the same, �We have it, but both copies are out.�

Grrr.

Right now, GTA3 is the hottest PS2 title out there. Sure, there�s Metal Gear Solid 2, but that�s not my bag. GTA3 is drivin� shootin� gangland fun.

Oh, and I�ve shot down three police helicopters with my shiny new rocket launcher. I�m currently working for the owner of all the media outlets in Liberty City, Donald Love. The last mission I did was pick up �packages� dropped from a plane into the harbor and return them to him. The FBI even came out.

Man, I�ve got to steal one of those FBI cars. I�ve been in one, but they trashed it and I died in the explosion.

Oh, back to reality...right...right.

So, I get home and my beloved wife, Aisai, is there, home from work early, radiant and beautiful. She asks, �You didn�t get your game?�

I explain how they are all out and that now that the kids who really shouldn�t be playing rated M [for mature] games know about GTA3, I�ll not be able to rent the dang thing for two months. Then I say, �Can I just buy the thing?�

And we did, we picked it up on the way out to eat. We ate at Friday�s, and you know, there is just something about Friday�s I don�t like. That said, the gigantor burger I ordered was, if not the best tasting burger I ever had in my life, in the top five.

So, Friday we watched some TV as I secretly pined for my game. Then I played and Aisai stayed up reading. She went to bed and I played with the headphones on.

With the headphones, you can hear the levels of awayness that sounds have. Though it is handy in a gunfight to hear which direction it�s coming from.

I didn�t say up too late, maybe one. Saturday we went out of the house, blah blah, and then I played again that afternoon and night, but I went to bed at a good hour, around 11:30, since I had church the next morning.

Sunday night, since Monday was Veterans Day, I played until around 2. I woke at around 10, which is rare but I didn�t have Aisai there to motivate me since the Underground Lair does not take off that holiday. Aisai was trapped at work for lunch though, since the parade had the place surrounded. Ha.

I played from ten in the morning until six in the afternoon. Then I let Aisai have the TV and we watched some shows, blah blah, I ripped some CDs...ooh, I have to get those Christmas CDs back to TC...and then I got the TV back around 10.

Then, I made sure I knew I was an idiot by staying up until around one.

And then, yes, this morning I woke up at 5:30 a.m. and came into work.

Aisai has software training in Baton Rouge and leaves at 5:55 p.m. today and gets back Thursday at ... some late time, so I�ll be a slave to GTA3 while she�s gone.

Oh, and I got to the third island last night. It�s loaded with great exotic sports cars. I�ve cruised around the airport and actually drove under a big jet as it was taking off. I need to see if my rocket launcher can take one of those bad boys out. And the mansions...I need to take a better look around there.

Mwah ha ha ha.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com