PREV & NEXT

Subhumans and Survivor Silas
11/9/1

Oh, I guess I should write a Stuffo. Hmm. Let�s talk about the subhumans, shall we.

My Tamagotchi finally died. Whoo hoo. It would be a sad event, I suppose, but the little guy lived 32 days. That�s not terribly accurate either, since when he got old and crotchety I kept him paused for four days straight where time didn�t pass for him. I also set the time in the opposite direction by waking him from his sleep when he�d pooped on the floor before going to bed.

Let me make this clear, just for those like my Dad who read an entry and thought a Tamagotchi was a living thing, it�s not. Tamagotchi were �fad toys� from the 1996 year, virtual pets if you will. The Tamagotchi is by far the most minimalist of the virtual pets and doesn�t try to be anything but a Tamagotchi.

Man, Tamagotchi is a hard word to type. Lots of skipping back and forth.

But my Tamagotchi was born on September 20th...seven weeks ago. That�s 35 days. At least half of that he has been a needy little old man who needs to eat every ten minutes. It got to the point that you could either play his game to keep him happy and it would only take half your life, or you could pop him some candy. So it was candy, candy, candy. I found out that the Tamagotchi can�t get over 99 oz for the first generation.

The cricket is doing fine. When the college kids were over last month, Linen asked what it�s name was. I said, �Crickets aren�t smart enough to have names.� And truly, none of my fish have names. Well, Panfry did. But he was huge, a butterfly koi, and pretty smart.

I�ve had the cricket for about five weeks or so. I still haven�t been able to find another of his little brethren wandering around the house to be his new roomie.

However, Aisai and I went to the new Petsmart near our Target. They had leopard geckos and a tiny little Pacman frog [which, yes, I put a pacman frog on my Christmas list, but...if I�m going to get any non-fuzzy pets, let me pick them out.] And they had crickets.

But their crickets were ugly. But hey, 12 for 83 cents for the babies and 12 for $1.40 for adults.

I finished ripping Christmas CDs I borrowed from TC last night, and as I was going downstairs I went to pet Mouse some.

Mouse is our special needs cat who stays upstairs since she needs to limit the amount of stimuli she gets. The brain damage she suffered as a kitten has left her with diminished abilities, and one of those abilities is to filter out background stimuli. Mouse needs to keep it simple for herself.

Mouse was near her favorite toy, the Plexiglas box, which currently holds a wasp I caught and put in it last Friday. He was still moving, though slow. And I felt bad for him since I�d been looking at little bugs at Petsmart.

I took him downstairs and when I cut one of the old potatoes up for the little cricket, I cut him a slice. He was very excited, but seemed to think all food came from above him. When I looked this morning I wasn�t sure whether he had eaten off his potato slice.

And I couldn�t end this Stuffo without mentioning Survivor last night. It was one of the most brilliant things I�d seen to swap out three members of each tribe. I wonder if it was planned of if Mark Burnett did it on the fly since the evil young people camp was going to get very evil and non-family entertainmentish if it kept up.

Silas, the monkey boy, gone. Bwah ha ha ha. I�m hoping that Lindsay is next, but not before she get a few more nasty sores. I don�t notice any of the older women who don�t sleep half the day covered with bites and sores. Hmm.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com