PREV & NEXT

Flu Lite and My Blood Is Useless
11/8/1

The name of the image is dog-old.gif, but I'm using it as a sick dog picture.

And I thought the lame part about yesterday would be that my rice noodle soup was like eating egg shell extract. I�m not saying it was crunchy, no, it was almost slimy. I think I didn�t follow directions well, mainly, since I can�t read kanji.

Microsoft Word knew the word kanji.

And the taste, it was like that membrane between the egg shell and the white. Oof, and Ook at the same time.

However, the real suck of yesterday, or actually, what am I saying, it�s not yesterday, it was Tuesday...in any case, the suck of that day was my flu shot and what it did to me.

Before I got the flu last year, I was really rather neutral on the whole flu shot thing. I had one two years ago, but didn�t feel strongly about it one way or another. I think I was in because of something else, triglycerides I�m thinking, and they offered it to me. I got the shot and didn�t get sick.

I got sick this time. And it was a heck of a flu symptom set I got. I didn�t have the flu, mind you, but my body thought I did. So, what symptoms did I have? The nausea, the muscle soreness, dizziness, more muscle soreness, lack of appetite, more muscle soreness, more nausea, and some whining.

I even told the guys who were getting the flu shot in front of me, �I got one two years ago and I didn�t get sick.� Which is accurate, but the real meaning is �I don�t think anyone but weak little wimps get sick off this stuff.�

I also had a conversation with the lady who was behind me in line. I was number 169 to get a shot, if you want to know how long the line was. I got there at 2:20 and got back to the office at 2:50, so they were cranking it out since they started at two.

The lady behind me had just given blood the day before and her arm was all bruised. She showed us since I said that I hoped we didn�t have some temp people giving shots like when they get hacks in to gouge your arm on blood drives. Her arm looked horrible, like some toothless pit bull had gummed her for all it was worth.

I told her about the time that I had some newbie scrape at the cartilage in my elbow looking for a vein, and also mentioned that I don�t give blood since I know how useless mine is now. See, I have AB+.

I put a link in the Stuffoblog [there�s a link at the top of the page] which has a diagram of how all the different bloods can be given and taken.

Being AB+, I can get blood from anyone, absolutely anyone. However, my blood is useless to anyone who is not also AB+. Aisai is O+, she can give to anyone who is positive, but she can only get O+ or O- blood. Generally, they only use O+ for transfusions or if you�re negative O-. Everyone gets O- when they are in a car wreck that requires some quick blood. Aisai gets calls from the Red Cross often.

The only thing unique about my blood is that my plasma is clean, no antibodies at all. I have no idea why that would be good or bad. La la la.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com