PREV & NEXT

Too Many Buffies and the Weekend
11/5/1

I have so much to say but I don�t know how to start my Stuffo. There, that should do it.

Friday, we didn�t go see The One since all the bad reviews were flying all over the place. I�m sure that I, keeping my expectations low, would have enjoyed it. Besides, we had to go buy stuff for the college age retreat the next day.

We were in charge of breakfast, and Aisai was also in charge of taking up the paltry $5 per person. The problem with having a non-overnight retreat is that the college kids don�t really get there on time. Most of our muffins and fruit that we brought for breakfast got taken home with kids in the afternoon rather than eaten at breakfast.

But we had lots of fun and I found out that I�m out of shape. I did hurt a few muscles in my right hand and arm by throwing golf balls as far as I could.

We watched TV Saturday night.

This last week, the Smallville [aka Superman] show had an episode called Hothead where a coach, obsessed with winning, accidentally mutates when he soaks in a steam room where there are some of the kryptonite meteor rocks in the steam thingy. This turns him into firestarter man. But we didn�t have to look at Drew Barrymore, who is undoubtedly making another movie where she plays a person who is homely, thinking, �That�s what the public wants, homely people in movies�.

Oh, I�m not saying that Drew is an ugly gal. Far from it. But she always either acts like a dork or takes, or makes, a role that is of an uber-underdog.

Ok, now, think about what that Smallville episode was like. We also saw the Buffy episode called Go Fish which, filmed in 1997ish, is about a coach, obsessed with winning, intentionally mutates his team when he has them soak in a steam room where USSR genetic experiment stuff has been added to the steam thingy.

Seeing both episodes within a few days of each other makes for odd TV viewing. However, being that there are hundreds of Buffy episodes, and I�ve never really seen a lame one, they have probably covered a lot of the stuff that can be covered in sci-fi/fantasy TV.

Oh, and speaking of bad sci-fi, which I really wasn�t, but that X-files episode where the black baseball player was really an alien, I can�t get over how shameful that is.

[Sentence where I call Chris Carter a white devil removed.]

Sunday, we had church, then helped at Windsor House, then I played some Tony Hawk 1 before evening church. After that it was get some food at Burger Bad Boy on the way home and watch some more Buffy episodes.

I wrote a letter to FX, the channel, last week, but I don�t think I mentioned it here. I think I can just pull the leter up and let you read it. It deals with the fact that they are now, rather than putting one hour of Buffy on per day, now putting two hours of Buffy, both new-to-me [not one is the one from the previous day] and I can�t keep up.

--letter begins�

I loved it when in late September FX started airing the Buffy episodes that I had never seen. Then, now, in November, I'm getting more Buffy from you than I have time to watch. My dream, you're ruining it. Sure, overly dramatic of me, but this sucks. My favorite show, the episodes I've wanted to see for years, coming at me so fast that I can't see them all. I don't have 12 hours a week to dedicate to watching Buffy.

The 6 and 3 arrangement was ideal since I could get the new one at six and if my replaytv missed it, I could always nab it at three the next day.

I guess when you've finished bombarding us and start the series over, one at a time, then I'll be able to see the ones I haven't seen in order.

Thanks for putting it on though. It's great to see them. I guess every silver lining must have it's cloud.

[My Name]

Miffed Buffy Fan

--end letter�

I now realize that five days times two hours does not equal 12 hours, but it�s the thought that counts.

And if my nephew Corey doesn�t get me a list of tools he wants for Christmas, I�m just getting him stuff I think is cool. He�s got a Dreamcast, so probably use Half.com to get him Jet Grind Radio and some other game.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com