PREV & NEXT

Funeral Tuesday After My Birthday
10/23/1

I guess it�s time for me to write a Stuffo entry. I really don�t feel like it, but it�s been five days, probably the longest I�ve gone in a while.

My birthday we didn�t actually have my party. Ooh, that reminds me. I need to find out what day I�m eating dinner with my parents since I think I might have said today but I have a funeral to go to today.

[Time passes.]

Here�s what I just wrote to Dad:

�I think we agreed on tonight as the night we eat out. Well, there is a funeral that I really should go to, so can we postpone until Thursday or something.�

�Oh, and you may have some message on your answering machine where my cell phone's handset wasn't locked and it dialed your number while in my pocket. I think, based on the time of day, you might hear either me typing, talking [to either coworkers or cats at home], or driving home.�

�Let me know about this. Also, what do you want for Christmas, Dad? We got mom the 30 inch silver chain she wanted and Kelley has some ideas for her, but I think Kelley is going to see what she can get before she lets me know them. Ha, competition for present ideas.�

�I love you and mom. Sorry about the postponement. I really don't want to go to the funeral. I never want to go to any funeral.�

So, what did I get for my birthday? Aisai got me a � length black leather jacket, and not suede. Gah, I hate suede. Suede is for shoes. Tom and Teri got me the Nelly Furtado CD and Alanis Morissette Unplugged [which, yes, I already have, but I only have a copy, and I really wanted the real thing]. Aisai�s Mom got me the Nelly Furtado CD and the T-shirt for my car stereo [since I�m a dork and have Sony Loyalty].

And yes, the Nelly Furtado CD is mentioned twice there. Teri is returning it and I think, trying to get Rage Racer or something else on my list. I didn�t make a very big list. Most stuff that I like I can just go out and buy. Aisai�s mom and Tom and Teri also both got the Sony Xplod [car stereo] shirt too.

Dinoback hasn�t gotten the gift that she ordered for me in yet, and since she lives in London, I told Aisai that she can just hang onto it until they show up at Christmas if she wants. Sounds to me like something is on backorder, which would be one of my impossible to find �No Count� 50s Music CDs. And speaking of that, I got one in yesterday. Half.com notified me that someone had listed Shakin� Fit for around $11 so I bought it.

I also got two more of the games that I ordered with the money from mi padres. And I have to tell you, all those people who say that Wipeout XL is better than Wipeout 3 are just wrong wrong wrong. The lack of support for the Dualshock is enough to disqualify it. Heck, you could play XL with those stinky controllers that Sony put out with the system back in 1995.

It looks like Tom is going to buy an X-box for �the kids� for Christmas. The games for it look pretty good, but in the three way console wars [you can�t count Sega since they are making games for all three systems and ignoring their own Dreamcast], I see Microsoft as the third wheel. Granted, Sony had never tried this until 1995, so there is no history to look to for this.

One of my gripes, and this is a multi-platform gripe, is that they are all trying to get online to play online games. Well, you know what does online games great? Computers. The PS2 is botching their first attempt at onlineness with only having Tony Hawk Pro Skater 3 as an online game. I�m not sure what Microsoft has, but Nintendo...oh, heck, Nintendo really looks like it just sucks. The whole deal.

Figure this out: Nintendo puts its games, targeted at the rugrat crowd, on DVDs so the kids can scratch them all up, and then doesn�t make the box so it can be a DVD player. The controllers look much better than any others they have made in the past though, since they copied the shape of Sony�s Dualshock.

The other game that I got in was Tony Hawk Pro Skater, sans manual. Grrr. It�s pretty fun, despite the fact that I suck.

On Thursday, if still alive, my Tamagotchi will be 28 days old. He�s paused at home now as he runs out of all his food in about 7 minutes. And I�ve got to get that condo away from the cricket since we never see him anymore.

And, what on earth do I want for Christmas?

Oh, and I shaved my head. Ah, feels good to be shorn.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com