PREV & NEXT

Gimmie Five
10/17/1

1. Aisai gets a magazine called Real Simple, which is supposed to be about the simple, peaceful life. This month there is an article about �How To Do Stuff Like A Man, So You Aren�t So Inferior.� It�s not called that exactly, but the title would fit. One of the things is �Making a Martini Like A Man�. I kid you not. The subtitle of the magazine is �Making Time For What�s Most Important� which they leave undefined. My mind thought that kids, religion, and family would be most important. But I guess it�s how to make a non-girly martini.

2. Bats get their own special word for their poop, 'guano'. Or maybe guano is just the Mexican word for poop, and we're paying tribute to the bat's Latin heritage. It's not like their poop is all that freaky either. They're mammals. You don't hear people talking about dog guano. Maybe it's their diet. Maybe if I eat a whole lot of fruit, I'll have guano too.

3. It seems one of the lessons that Bandai wanted to teach with their Tamagotchi is that taking care of an elderly person is just as much work as taking care of an infant, but it lasts longer. I commented to Aisai when she got home from The Expo that I don�t think most people take care of their Tamagotchi as much as I do. He loses a hunger heart and a happy heart every ten minutes.

4. I�ve got $50 from the parental units burning a hole in my pocket. The Gift Money Rules that have always been in place in my family are that you can�t spend it on food, gas, or anything non-lasting. I always feel the need to report in what I�ve spent, since I was asked what I did with it when I was a teen and would get money for a gift. Sometimes I�d borrow from it to buy gas. Borrowed gift money never never never gets repaid.

5. I�ve been calling Verdana, the font, �Veranda� for about three years. The first time I�ve actually said it in front of people was yesterday and I was corrected. Nice font though. I�m thinking of switching this, which should be Tahoma if you have it, to Verdana.

[Note: I didn�t mean to imply that all bats are either Latino or fruit eaters. I apologize to the non-fruit eating American bat community. But, you know, the really cool bats are Latino and do eat fruit.]

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com