PREV & NEXT

Subhumans I Own
10/9/1

Yes, I know this doodle of a Tamagotchi is all wrong.

I got another pet like thing yesterday. Aisai was folding towels that had been sitting around for a while, and the little man jumped out. He was a cricket, and yes, a male.

I�ve never kept a male cricket before and I also hadn�t used my big terrarium. I used the clear plastic box to catch him and hold him while I got his new house ready. Aisai kept folding towels while La Femme Nikita [the brilliant Luc Besson movie, not the late night crap] was paused.

Out to the garage, grab the terrarium that was with some other useless stuff that lines the walls out there. Back inside, wash it out and wash that weird wood thing with all the holes, which we�ll be calling the Cricket Condo. Or maybe not, it sounded good at the time.

Flooring, cat litter. Food dish, cut a clear plastic disposable cup so that it�s one inch tall and them make an access port on the side. Water holder, 1.5 inch square of wash cloth, and I didn�t ruin one, I used one that I�d ruined before with what looks like grease from a car engine. It had been washed a few times, so it�s clean but stained. Food, ooh, carrots. Crickets love carrots.

I set it up and put him in. He hid for a while, then found the wet condo. Poor little man, he drank water off the condo and I swear I saw him trying to chew it some. They have the coolest mouths. About an hour later he found the carrot and his new calling in life began. He ate and scraped at the carrot.

It was one of the juicier carrots I�ve seen since his little antennae kept getting stuck in the carrot juice and he�d back up and clean the antennae.

He is still very small and too young to sing. We�ll see about how good a pet he is when he starts singing. I�ve heard that caydedids make lovely songs, but, uh, the crickets around here are shrill and irritating.

And speaking of barely interactive pet like things, my Tamagotchi is progressing nicely. He�ll be waking up in about three minutes. I have his clock set forward an hour so he�ll go to bed at 9 at night rather than ten.

I just had a sneezing fit. Yikes, I�m under attack.

I got a mametchi on the first try. Go figure, I�m an adult. Aisai got this for my anniversary, with other things, and paid around $20 for it on ebay.

I really want a second generation one now, and silver if possible. I bought a green one on ebay which I thought was a P2 [the nomenclature for second generation in the Tamagotchi vernacular] based on a FAQ on a gal�s site. Well, when you look at her list of Tamagotchi, she has it but it�s a P1. Grrr. However, when I used a new search thing, I found some P2 Tamagotchi for only $3.

Ooh, ooh. I had to get one. I added one to my cart and started checking out. $5 shipping? Hmm. How much is shipping on two? $5.13. How much on ten? $6.80. I bought six. I�m currently watching some guy on ebay who�s selling four of these black and orange P2 Tamagotchi and it looks like he�s not going to get very good prices. I may shelve these for a few years, but I�ll play with at least one.

I hope that they really aren�t all orange and black. Oh, it would be so neat if I got a silver one.

I also learned that all the times that I�ve said �Tamagotchis� that I�ve been grammatically incorrect. The plural is the same as the singular.

Oh, and that one that I won off ebay, they guy doesn�t seem to like the price I got it at since he�s not responding to my emails. Jerk.

If the dedicated handheld virtual pet bug continues to bite me, I�ll probably get a Digimon next, but I�ve read you can�t pause them. I�d never want a Furby, because, duh, it�s stupid. And an Aibo? Oh, yes. An Aibo would be wonderful. I�d prefer a silver 111 model. I know the 210 are more complex, but the 111 is more happy go lucky possible, the 210 is more dignified.

And I hate the way the new 300 series looks. What was Sony thinking?

Oh, and did I mention I was a big geek?

Oh, and someone sign my guestbook. [As long as I'm being a geek on the internet, why not panhandle for the guestbook]

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com