PREV & NEXT

Locksmith
10/8/1

It�s always odd how things tend to all happen at the same time.

A gal I know locked herself out of her house and busted a window with a rock to get in, costing her $230. Well, it�s not as simple as that really, she was locked out and, you know, there is always that one window that everyone thinks is easier to get into than the other windows. Well, the alarm went off and she decided to turn it off before the cops got there so it was Hulk smash time.

She told me afterward that she wished she had called a locksmith.

My situation yesterday was similar. My house, however, just for information purposes to you thieves out there, has no weak windows or doors, and for that matter, neither does my car.

And if my car did, maybe I wouldn�t have called the locksmith. But let�s tell this story:

Aisai and I went to help the high school kids at our church with Windsor House. Our church does a little mini service for those who have to live in Windsor House. Windsor House is the old folks home that you live in if you never had any money or didn�t save it. It�s really pretty bad, but we tend to see the good side since they are usually so happy to see us.

After the singing and scripture reading and prayers, it was over and we talked with the old people some and then went out to our car. While I was talking to one of the older ladies there, I had reached for my keys and realized they weren�t there.

When Aisai and I first pulled up to Windsor House, the youth kids weren�t there, so we sat in the car and waited. I had taken the keys out the the ignition and, since I wasn�t standing up so it was easy to put them into my pocket, I put them back in the ignition. When the kids showed up, Aisai and I got out, but my keys didn�t.

There they were. I could stare at them longingly from outside the car. I thought about how to open the car. There is a cable which runs from the side of the driver seat to the back of the car which pops open the trunk. But I�m in my suit, or at least the pants of it and a nice dress shirt with one of my longest owned and favorite ties, so forget any messing with the car.

We call Aisai�s mom on my cell phone. Some of the kids commented that it was a cool phone, �That�s the one in that commercial.� And yes, it�s true; my 3390 with the Arctic Silver cover is the one at the end of that commercial where the couple activates different parts of a city from on the hilltop.

We got the phone number for three places and I recognized Brooke�s Lock & Key so I called them. He was out quickly, but did have to call me back since my directions there were sketchy. See, I don�t know the names of the two roads off Jordan Lane that lead there.

It took him three minutes tops and it cost me $55. Ha, but that�s not the end of the story.

Unlocker dude told me that since I have State Farm, that if I take my receipt to them that they will reimburse me. I hope they do, since $55 is a steep price to pay for me forgetting my key.

This week Aisai and I will get some key�s made. One for her mom, one for Tom, and one for my parents, just so we don�t have to do that again.

The only other spare key to the car was in Aisai�s purse, which was under the passenger seat.

Oh, and it was the prettiest day to sit and wait. I rarely just sit outside. It was nice.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com