PREV & NEXT

Monday: The Vacation Is Over
10/1/1

I�m back from my New Orleans vacation, and no, you didn�t miss the entries where I took a computer along and typed in entries while I was there. They are still snuggled firmly inside the Mac Classic II on the kitchen table.

And you say, �We�ll I wouldn�t say I missed them.� [That�s a Office Space joke.]

I got to miss a Hazmat seminar that lasted three days last week. Ha ha ha.

And speaking of movies, as I was a paragraph ago, dumb old Netflix isn�t working out for me too well since the mail is so slow after the terrorist thing.

Oh, and something I keep hearing people say, �Oh, every time I see a plane now, I�m afraid.� Like afraid it�s a terrorist about to ram into something, usually these people might even say ram into where they are.

I live in Huntsville, Alabama. There are no symbolic targets of anything on the global level in Alabama.

Well, they could always ram a jet into George Wallace. [Is he still alive?]

And isn�t Jim Morrison of the Doors buried in Athens, Alabama?

[That�s another joke.]

One of the souvenirs that I got at the Aquarium of the Americas down in New Orleans was a carabineer shaped like a fish that says �New Orleans� across the textured part that I can�t figure out why it�s textured. I have a few theories about how it could be used as a bottle opener, but it would be the most difficult thing.

In any case, I have my keys separated now. Work keys and Me Keys, and they are connected to the carabineer that is hooked to a belt loop so that it hangs my keys into my front left pocket of my jeans. This is also known as the Key Pocket to me.

The only thing is, besides possibly looking goofy in general, but it frees up the bottom of your pocket, and, hey, the bottom of a pocket is the part that really counts, that it�s a fish. I don�t want anyone thinking that I�m going for some religious idolatry like the people who worship that fish they put on the back of their minivans that they drive 65 mph on the Parkway. I�m thinking of abandoning my fish carabineer and reverting to my old key self.

Another questionable item I�ve got on me today is my Tamagotchi. He�s at the �I just got legs� point. He got legs last night around six thirty. [Which reminds me, I didn�t get Futurama last night.] This dude wakes up at nine and goes to sleep at nine, it seems. I fed him and I�ll check on him every once in a while. I know how to �stop time� on him, in case something actually comes up, which it won�t today. All I have to do is make sure that he�s fat and happy before I start working in the lab or I�ll end up using up a lot of gloves.

And speaking of TV, which we did kind of mention, I caught Enterprise and Alias this weekend. Enterprise might be good. How can you mess up Star Trek anyway? I could argue that Deep Space 9 is crap, but then again, I never really did connect with the characters. I was more of the �Again with the freedom fighters?� crowd.

Alias was killer. It will be a classic if they can keep it up. I noticed that track 11 of the Supreme Beings of Leisure was used as her �Fast Walk Into Work� song. Excellent.

Oh, back to a thought earlier: Dude, no one is going to smack a plane into you. Now, I wouldn�t have visited the statue of liberty within a week of the attack. And I�d avoid it on Sept 11 next year.

I say that, but after another Gulf vacation this year, I have made a command decision. Next year, we�re going North [or West].

Unless we decide to go to Florida or Texas again. Galveston has at least three more weeklong vacations in it for me.

�The bottoms of the pockets are the best. You can�t mess up Star Trek. The French Quarter is on a Hellmouth. Eating at Copeland�s while in New Orleans is like...some colloquialism. And no plane is going to hit you, doof.� - Nostrildeermouse

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com