PREV & NEXT

Boring Entry Written When Sleepy
9/20/1

Yesterday was a very odd day. I got to work, made coffee, and started watching the weather.

We had a good front coming in. I needed rain to get my storm water-sampling duties over. I replied to a few emails, which stupid old Hotmail bounced, grrr, and waited.

At 10 a.m., it looked like it was time to hit the road. I had ten polyethylene jugs and one glass bottle. I got to my site at 10:30. I sat and waited. I wasn�t going to put out the rain gauge until it started raining. I�d brought my Harry Potter book, and started reading that.

After a while, as is usual, I had gotten the interior of the van a little too cold. I�m such a novice at car air conditioners since I never had one in my Mazda 323 that I had all during the 1990s. No AC in Alabama is not a treat. I rolled down my driver window of the van and cut off the engine.

At around 10:50, the skies didn�t look any darker. I gave Aisai a call and had her look at the site that I linked to in yesterday�s stuffo. She did the short range loop and I told her to look at the times at the top and estimate how long it would be until it started raining. She guessed about 30 minutes to an hour.

It started raining at 11:12, but it was just sprinkling at that point. By the time Aisai said it would rain, it was pouring. I�m used to measuring from 0.2 to 1 inch of water over my weir, but it hit at least a foot at one point.

It seems that Huntsville is getting into the same trap that Los Angeles did. We�re making so many storm drains to run the water off that all the water runs off. Then we have to water our lawns to keep them growing. I had lots of mud in my water when the torrent really got going. That�s due to all the construction upstream from my sampling point, AKA, everything around the new Target.

I would take a sample and then read my book. Every 20 minutes I�d take a sample until I had nine jugs full. The tenth was a spare.

I got back at work at around 2:15 and I had a splitting headache. I took some Tylenol and waited for 3:15 so I could go home. Once home, I slept. That is, until Aisai got home and then we went to eat, then church, and then I felt better and stayed up watching the Star Trek Voyager series finale which I was dumping to tape for my NASA Contact.

I got in bed at around 11:30.

When I�m gone next week, I�ll have my 1998 Vacation log posted in here. I�ll be taking my 1991 Macintosh Classic II with me so I can write and then post it when I get back. Yeah, I know it�s pretty big compared to a laptop, but I don�t own a laptop.

Hmm, I need to start waiting until lunch break to write these. They seem a tad boring when I write them this sleepy.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com