PREV & NEXT

National Lampoon Frog Legs Love Peanut Heart Traffic Lights To The Doctor
9/18/1

Sheesh, I�m in a lousy mood today. The world is weighing heavy on me, and, you know, it�s just plain selfish of me to think that.

When caffeine is a part of your life, you don�t skip it for a few hours in the morning. I still haven�t had my coffee, but let�s not get ahead of ourselves. I�ll follow my little Post-It outline I made.

Currently, or at least yesterday afternoon, I am the number one hit at Google for the search �National Lampoon Frog Legs�. I couldn�t tell you why a person would search for that, but they did, and they got me. And oddly, all those Google hits I was getting for Jungle Love lyrics have stopped. Good.

A piece of info that I gleaned off the TV last night was about people who get headaches from peanuts. Yes, it�s true, some do. Well, at the Skippy Peanut Butter factory after the roasting there is a blanching machine, but they don�t use hot water or vinegar or anything, it�s just a term for removing the skin on the outside. It also removes the peanut heart, the little piece that is in-between the two big pieces of each peanut nut part. That heart has a different makeup than the rest of the peanut and is the part that causes the peanut headache prone to get their peanut headaches.

I had my doctor checkup today for the finger that was operated on, oh, almost a month ago. I missed my originally scheduled checkup on, not last Tuesday, but the Tuesday before. I then tried to make an appointment by calling on the following Thursday, but they were in the process of moving the office, or I at least suppose this since they are in a different location.

Now, let�s talk about waiting at Dr. Maddox�s office. It�s just the price I pay, see. There is another doctor who does hand surgery in town, but Dr. M is the one you want, or so I have heard. The Friday before my surgery I waited for three hours and he saw me for five minutes. Last Thursday, when I had an appointment at 3:40 for the checkup I finally had today, I rescheduled once it got to be five [the time the office is supposed to close] since the A&M football player really needed to be seen more than I did, and I wasn�t even next in line. Today wasn�t so bad. I waited one hour and he saw me for one minute.

At one interesting time, I got a phone call in the waiting room. My Nokia 3390 supports different ring tones for different incoming caller IDs. Aisai has a custom ring tone that�s very fast and attention getting. Tom gets the computer, or robot, one. And everyone's phone at work has the song �The Buffoon� attached to it. Well, the phone rang with The Buffoon ring. It was the lab. �Hey, Jones� I answered.

It seems that T-boss hadn�t remembered that I told him that I had a doctor�s appointment this morning. Well, he remembered as soon as Jones told him again. They thought I was dead. So how come I only get a 4 out of 5 on my "Attendance and Punctuality" on my Annual Performance Appraisal if, when I�m late, they think I�m dead.

The drive into the doctor�s office was different than my normal route. I head off for work at 6:20, but since I didn�t have to be at the doctor�s office until 7:30, Aisai ended up leaving before I did. As I was eating some Cinnamon Crunch Crispix, Aisai called me from traffic and told me that the line into the Arsenal was so backed up that our entrance ramp from US20 to I-565 was backed up.

At that time of day, it�s impossible to make a left turn onto Old Madison Pike, so I took University Drive. Now I remember why I hate surface roads. The lights are perfectly timed so that the bovines in front of you in their Sport Futility Vehicles who don�t get up to the speed limit in the first minute get stopped at every single light. Fortune smiled on me and eventually I got to the front of the pack by having the pack get cut in half by a light.

I did my usual zero to speed limit ASAP and, hey, didn�t have another light stop me. Go figure.

Ooh, coffee time.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com