PREV & NEXT

Solid Cards, Nutella, Harry Potter, and Kidnapped Rabbits
9/17/1

One of the gifts that I got for Aisai for our 10-year anniversary was a game from 1966. We own a game made by 3M called Venture, and it�s a very good, money based, corporation-building game. It�s out of print, and so is the game that I got for hour anniversary, Foil.

Foil is a game where the player makes a word with the ten lettered cards they have and then they scramble it up to try to keep others from guessing what the word they have made is within the time limit. The nice thing about this game that I got, or this set, I should say, is that it is from 1966 and it had never been used.

Friday, Aisai opened the decks of cards and they were fused together. Each deck is like a brick of cards. Hmm, maybe 35 years of sitting will do that. I�ll have to try to find some cards in good condition on Ebay.

After hearing Nutella being raved about on the internet, I bought some at the store. Sure, it�s good. The first ingredient is sugar and the second is peanut oil. The hazel nuts are a down on the list. But yes, it�s a wonderful tasting thing.

On all the food I eat, or at least the prepackaged kind, I�ll check the carb ratio. I�ll look at total carbs and sugar. I generally will not eat anything that is more than half sugar. It doesn�t sound like much of a rule, really, but you�d be surprised. Nutella has 21 of it�s 23 grams of carbs from sugar. Not a thing that my low blood sugar type person should mess with unless it�s near a meal.

On their website, they compare themselves to peanut butter, and it�s really not a fair fight. Peanut butter gets about 75% of it�s calories from fat where Nutella only gets 45%. But all that aside, Nutella tastes great. You can�t compare it to peanut butter. Ooh, but you could have it with peanut butter. Mmmm.

And I�ve picked up a cheap edition of the first Harry Potter book at Wal-Mart. $5 for a paperback of it on newsprint type paper. I�ll read some on our vacation if I feel like it. This will be the first non-working vacation that Aisai and I have had where we didn�t go to the beach.

[Note to Aisai: Weekend trips don�t count and what I mean by working vacation is when we delivered Dinoback�s car to South Dakota for her.]

Ok, happy happy, right. If you don�t want any bad news, stop reading now.

Ok, to the south of us, lowering our property value, live the Trampoline Kids. Here�s a little story featuring them:

Once upon a time the Trampoline Kids and their friends were stomping around in our back yard when they startled a mother rabbit in the tall grass just behind Fidlor�s house. The mother rabbit ran down the storm drain nearby to escape the kids. Huddled in the grass were two baby rabbits. The Trampoline Kids caught them easily and then kept them in a box for two days feeding them only iceberg lettuce and water. They plan on keeping them and their mother will be buying them a cage to keep them in.

How does the story end? I don�t know, it hasn�t ended yet. As usual, they came to our house to ask technical questions about the rabbits and Aisai gave them some info, like feeding them just iceberg lettuce will starve them. But after I told them that these wild animals need to be let free and have normal lives, the response was �We used to do this all the time where we used to live.�

I wonder to what extent the mother rabbit feels sorrow.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com