PREV & NEXT

Labor Day Weekend
9/4/1

A lot happened this weekend, some significant, some not.

Friday after work, Aisai and I went to the movie Jeepers Creepers. I liked it, but I can deal with unconventional endings without thinking it ruins the entire movie. Aisai didn�t like the ending at all. One gal, as we were walking out of the theater, said, �That�s the stupidest movie I ever saw.� What she really meant was, �Dang it, I was really enjoying that and then I didn�t like the ending.� Clive Barker was right, it was some masterful story telling.

We went out to eat at Applebee�s afterward and I was moody. I�ve gotten so that I worry, or really feel sorrow, for the bad things in the world. The stuff that mainly got me was Policeman�s divorce, the baby who can�t live, and a co-worker racist who doesn�t understand that he�s offending me. I�ve even told him but he doesn�t care.

Later that night, I said to myself, �The problems of the world are not your problems.� I keep trying to realize that. Evil stuff really bothers me.

Aisai made a cake and some pasta salad for the [Aisai�s mom�s side of the] family reunion on Saturday. However, we got a call at nine on Saturday morning saying it was cancelled. A few hours before is an odd time to cancel something we all had to make food for and some people would drive a long distance.

Aisai made some calls and got a get together going at her mom�s on Monday, Labor day.

Aisai and I went to the library and I checked out 10 CDs. This one was more an experiment in what youth pop is. I got the new Mandy Moore, or �The Producers at Epic Records� since she didn�t write a single song. It has a lot of polish and really doesn�t clone any of the other pop chicks I�m aware of.

The most interesting thing about the CDs is that the librarian put the CD for Nsynch in one of my CD cases. I think it was some Aqua CD [note: I know nothing about Aqua, so if it�s shamefully bad, don�t judge me on that]. Celebrity is a very well polished CD, but it�s not my thing. However, I can approve of the concept of boy bands. Get four or five non-threatening males together to croon love songs and make pop with lots of big action to keep the gals attention in their teen years.

The most significant thing on Saturday was when we went by the jeweler and Aisai picked up my resized wedding ring. The weight that I gained once I got married [I was 6 foot and only weighted 140 when we got married] and my arthritis that�s starting up now cause my hands to go from a size 7 ring to a 10. But now I have a wedding ring again. It has been years. I always say �the last two� but I�ve been saying that for a long time. I don�t really think I have ever worn in when I worked for the government.

Oh, and a significant thing that I forgot on Friday, I got a five year service pin. Too bad I don�t wear a uniform. Ha. [Actually, I hate uniforms.]

Also on Saturday, we also went by Best Buy and Aisai let me look longingly at CD players for my car.

Then we got to see my sister and parents. We went over to my parents around six and left around 9 or 10. Aisai talked with the gals and heard the latest on my favorite Aunt and formerly favorite Uncle. Uncle is trying to steal as much from Favorite Aunt before he hits her with a divorce. He, 62, has been sleeping around, or at least trying to, with a 30 year old. Gross. But his mind has completely gone wrong and he�s ruining his and everyone else�s life. Oh, well. I played some Evo 4x4 with my nephew, Corey, on his dreamcast.

Sunday was the first day that I was the announcement person at the beginning of class. I tend to call this the �ringleader� when talking to Aisai. I have this role for the next half year. We�ve also lined up some great teachers in our college age class. This quarter is about Christian Finances. It�s amazing how much the bible speaks about money. And next quarter we�ve managed to get a great teacher who I�ve had teach this same subject, it�s going back to the earliest texts of the bible and examining the history and the validity of modern translations.

I was unhappy with my New King James until I took this class. There are more accurate versions, but if you know the minor flaws that your translation has, then you can be aware of it. But many versions out there are really off.

Sunday afternoon, I went back to Best Buy, Aisai didn�t come with me since she was feeling ill. Aisai and I had discussed it and I was able to use my October Bribe money early. I bought a Sony Xplod 650. I�ll put a link to it in the stuffoblog.

Actually, that�s not right. I accidentally bought the tape deck since the sales dude helping me thought it was a CD player also. They have fold down fronts so you can�t tell what it is. I had the 650 installed on Monday before we went to Aisai�s mom�s house. Actually, Tom took me to pick my car up and we returned to Mom J�s house.

[Note: Mom J is Aisai�s mom.]

After our get together, which consisted of talking and joking, I played with my stereo and figured it out. Turning off the �motion display� got rid of much of my confusion. Then I burned a CD [without normalizing the volume of the tracks first or checking to see that a certain song was ripped correctly] and went on an hour-long drive just to listen to my CD player.

Aisai wasn�t feeling well so she just crashed when we got back from her mom�s. We think it�s the Naproxin prescription she has for her hurt foot that�s making her feel nauseous.

And now it�s Monday morning on a Tuesday here at work.

Oh, and a detail I didn�t mention. It�s been overcast and rainy all weekend.

However, I�ve been in a pretty good mood.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com