PREV & NEXT

Jeepers Creepers at The Soybean Theater 13
8/31/1

So, I went grocery shopping last night, so what am I eating for lunch? A bag of roasted soybeans that I bought about a month ago. It oddly fits the coppery mug I put them in.

I�m currently bowl-less here at work. My blue plastic (polyethylene for you fanatics out there) bowl ended up getting gummy after I used some glassware cleaner on it.

The problem with eating a whole bag of soybeans is that it�s 800 calories. Sure, not bad compared to eating at McDonald�s, but I like to keep the lunch rather light.

I like around 700 calories for breakfast, around 500 for lunch, and 700ish for dinner. I usually don�t figure out my calories for dinner though. Either Aisai cooks or we go out. Tonight we are going out.

We�ll go to the Jeepers Creepers movie at the Carmike 10 and then eat out somewhere afterward. We�ll hit the matinee.

When I�m talking to Aisai, who knows the terms that I use, I call that Carmike Theater �The 10�. There is also a Regal 18 that I call �The 16� since it used to only have sixteen. And �The 12� is also a Regal, but actually has 12 screens and not some adjacent even number.

I�d really love a theater that went for a bad luck or good luck number. Nothing could top a 13, really. But a nine or seven would be nice. Eights get made all the time.

When I was a teen I would ride my bike to the Cobb Cinema 8. I rode my bike around a lot between the ages of 12 and 16. Actually, I think I rode the thing all over the place, regardless of distance, since I got the bike. I suppose I was following my father�s example, as he would ride his bike about three miles to work. Not every day, just when he wanted to.

After he was in a crash, he didn�t ride much anymore.

I should tell the history of my bike wrecks. I may have already. They include The Flip, Hit By A Cop, and The Second Flip. I�ll see about getting those written up.

The reason that I like the 10 so much is that the sound there is great. While every other theater in town is just lame old DTS, every screen at the 10 has DTS and about half are THX.

See, you can have DTS, digital theater sound, but you are THX, which stands for nothing. It�s a standard developed by one of George Lucas�s companies. THX 1138 was Mr. Lucas�s first film and also the name of the main character. I recommend this film. I�d love to see a Criterion Collection DVD with commentary, etc.

I remember seeing George Lucas taking part in a charity race with Toyota Celicas. His co-driver was Alyson Hannigan, Willow from Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I remember they were a good team as both were pretty obsessive about wanting to win. I don�t think they did.

And I am aware that Jeepers Creepers only got a 38% or so at Rotten-Tomatoes.com. Aisai called me up telling me that and asking if we were still going to go. I said, �Well, considering that Final Fantasy got a 32% or so, and I loved that, yes. I don�t trust reviewers anymore.�

Here�s a horse joke I made up about 12 years ago:

Ok, there�s a bird sitting on a horses head and a bird sitting on a fence. The bird on the fence says, �Nice Percheron.�

Which reminds me, I was reading in Scientific American, while I was waiting to be seen by the surgeon two weeks ago, that there was a study done on humor and centers of the brain and they found that the two kinds of humor used different parts of the brain.

The two kinds of humor were puns and �the good kind�. Their examples of these were:

A pun: Why did the golfer take two pair of pants golfing? In case he got a hole in one.

The Good Kind: What do engineers use for birth control? Their personalities.

The good kind, and they actually used some scientific word for it, but they also called it �the good kind� quite often, stimulated all over the brain. The puns were either left or right brain, I don�t remember.

My joke, clearly, wasn�t the good kind.

[Plus, it requires knowledge of horse breeds.]

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com