PREV & NEXT

Spirit Fingers and Cars
8/23/1

Well, I could say that I could do Spirit Fingers, and I really can, but it would hurt like the foo-yan. And I�m wearing my contacts for the first time since Sunday. I couldn�t put my contacts in since I didn�t really have my left hand.

That extra padding really helped keep me from banging my hand up. I�ve only yelped in pain about six times in the last 12 hours.

The real news is car news. And two sets of news at that:

My car is in the shop today because the little red battery light came on. This, to me, meant one of two things. Either the battery was bad, which is fine since it�s under warranty, or the alternator is bad, which is lame since, even though it�s under warranty, I still have to pay to have it put on.

The light came on when we were coming home from church. We skipped home and went straight to the Autozone near our house. They nice fellow wheeled the machine out to the car and hooked it up.

�Nice battery.� He said when he first saw my battery. Though my car is small, I have a huge battery with an 8 year warranty. It is probably the reason I was able to make it into the shop today.

The machine checked the car and showed that the alternator was good and the battery was also good.

Now, I just got a call from the shop and they said it was the diodes on the alternator. But this interrupts my story.

Well, so, according to the diagnostic at Autozone, it must have been the wiring. But who cares what that said, in either case, both scenarios mean the same thing. The Kronos was running off the battery only.

In other words, the clock was ticking every time the car was running. We drove home from Autozone and then this morning took it to the dealer.

The other car thing was Aisai�s mom�s car�s 60k mile checkup. The timing belt was already going to be replaced, but she also needed CV joints and a new oil pan. �New oil pan?� you say. Yes. Her car, a 1996 Camry, bottoms out a lot, mostly because of low air pressure in the tires. However, I have sung the song of correction once already, so I�ll not sing it again.

Her bill was $1,200 for everything.

Now, I�m off to pick up the old alternator and swap it for a new one at Autozone and bring it back to the dealer.

This week is moderately messed up.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com