PREV & NEXT

Why I Don't Own A Moped
8/10/1

Dang it, the internet is out during my lunch. And it�s Friday.

Only about 30 minutes before I go to the doctor for my finger bone thing. I�m a tad nervous, but only about as nervous as a sleepy me gets on Friday afternoons when it�s raining.

Egad, the weather alert went off again. Yes, tons of rain. It will flood all those places that always flood. Everyone knows this. Oh, and I don�t drive into huge puddles of water anyway.

I was thinking of a topic to write about so that I don�t just ramble. After all, I�m killing time as I eat lunch since the internet is out. And I thought I�d write about:

WHY I DON�T OWN A MOPED

Well, I guess it�s because I never really bought one. But perhaps that�s a little too existentialist for this discussion. [I�ve always wanted to be a dadaist, but I giggle at the silly stuff too much.]

The main reason must be the fact that if you have a wreck in a car, you get damage to your car. If you get in a wreck in a moped, or let�s say a car hits you, then ouch. I mean, really, ouch. Dang, that would be quite painful.

The rain. You can never discount the rain when talking about uncovered modes of transportation. In addition to that, the added slickness of the ground would make the lil� moped fall over with me on it in the rain.

And let�s define stuff here, I really don�t mean a moped. I�m no beatnik. I�m really talking about a scooter, but that has been overused recently in the aluminum kiddie scooterness recently.

Dang, did I mention that the AC is out today? And it rained. It feels like Cambodia in here.

Scooters also can�t get fast enough for my commute to work without me taking a different route. Most only get up to 45 or 50 mph, which is fast enough really for a lil� dinko thing like that.

Agh, it�s too hot. I�ll finish my Blue Crab Ramen and go sit in the lab.

Also, Aisai wouldn�t want me to get one. And it would cost money and be foolish.

But man, a scooter would be fun and you can always find them at classifieds2000.com with, like, no milage on it since people think it would be fun and then they never use it.

Also, would I look cool, or lame? Hmm. A tough question that I think I know the unfortunate answer to.

I�m hot, I�m going to the lab that has it�s own freakish Star Trek AC mounted on the wall [it�s not a window box].

I hope they don�t chop my hand up. That would be very irritating. I wouldn�t be able to miss work but I couldn�t type or hold a clip board and write. Hmm.

Hmm is right.

Hmm.

Did I mention that my high school had an existentialist club? I�ll see if I can find the yearbook and scan the picture in.

What am I thinking? The internet is down. Grrr. I�ll save this and we�ll see if I ever put it up.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com