PREV & NEXT

My Own Punch Story, No Fozzie, and Bad Luck
8/10/1

I�m sleepier than Sleepy Sleeperton from Sleepsville, Sleepabama.

After saying up late Tuesday, I stayed up late Wednesday, and then Aisai and I only got home at 11 pm last night.

And I still didn�t finish ripping those three Barenaked Ladies CDs I borrowed from TC.

Remember I mentioned pugilism in general last time? Well, today you get a rare treat. A high school story of when I punched a bully.

Once upon a time, Postwood went to a huge futuristic school named after a dead astronaut. The school was stark and had no windows and the hallways were circular with pods of classrooms off them. He [meaning me, I�m writing this part in third person, see] was in the A-pod where English was taught and rather than being in his classroom before third period, A2, he was across the hall in A6 talking to his friend Lawson.

Unfortunately, John Bakegard, a bully that Postwood had known since first grade when they both lived on the same street, took a disliking to Postwood talking in his classroom. When the bell rang, Bakegard started pushing Postwood.

This third person stuff is lame.

So, Bakegard is pushing me as I�m walking back to my classroom and saying some crap. He pushes me, and pushes me, and then�a little something snapped in my head. I really wasn�t even that angry with him either. But I turned around and popped him on the jawbone with my fist.

Bakegard took two small steps back and had a dazed look on his face.

�I�m going to hunt you down after school.� He said.

He didn�t get the chance since I left ASAP that day. By the next day, the few synapses that he had had turned to other things and there were no more conflicts between me and Mr. Bakegard, who I�m sure might find this by searching the internet for his name.

I called the park service in Louisiana where we had [note: past tense, this could be foreshadowing] the cabin reservations for September. I needed to know if there was a charge for each time we used the phone. I called and found out there is no phone and no TV.

I can live without the TV, but I�m outside my calling area for my cell phone there. I emailed Aisai and let her know.

So, the place, Lake Fozzie Bear, had three strikes or more against it: No phone, no TV, no pool, and you can�t swim in the water. Also, it�s an hour and a half from Baton Rouge and 2.5 hrs from Nawlens.

Aisai and I discussed it via email and then she called and switched us to Bayou Signette that has a wave pool, an normal pool, and is only 30 minutes from Nawlens. I�m happier.

However, since the cabins are doing that serenity thing, there is no TV or phone in this one either. But there is a pay phone, and that just means that I�ll have to get a calling card with no pay phone surcharge.

Also yesterday, I bought a buck full of feeder fish for our tank here at work. We did have nine guppies here, feeder guppies, but they tend to jump out of the tank. All that was left was one guppy and the humongo plecostomus. I picked up 10 orange colored �tuffy� for $1.08.

All who frequent the lab were pleased.

Oh, Aisai just called and reminded me to call the doctor.

See, my middle finger on my left hand has been having some joint pain for the last month or so. I chalk this up to the arthritis that everyone in my family has, but yesterday I actually did something that just hadn�t occurred to me. I felt of the base of my middle finger and there is a knot type thing. It�s gross and freaky.

I now, after calling, have an appointment today at 1:30 p.m.

Dang, it creeps me out when they fit you in immediately. Aisai says I may have to have surgery.

I can�t have surgery on that finger. It�s my E finger. My 3, #, and D finger. Heck, I type X with that thing too.

But hey, who above 27 years old really ever types X anymore.

[UPDATE: A reader writes in: "I don't use my middle finger to type X. I use my ring finger. Actually, D and E are the only letters I use my middle finger for." And darnit if he isn't right. So I can type X even after they amputate my finger.]

[Aisai also wrote in correcting my X finger error. "and the proper finger to use for x is the ring finger." I feel such shame.]

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com