PREV & NEXT

Marvin's, Venture, Buying Land, and, of course, Kimchi
8/6/`

If it weren�t for Kimchi Bowl Noodle, I wouldn�t have any time to sit and write this. I�m eating lunch on a very busy Monday.

And the weekend was action packed also. Friday, we went to some �hole in the wall� place out in the middle of nowhere and it was wonderful. By �we�, I mean Tom, Niece C, Tom�s wife [who will get a code name, but I don�t want to rush one since I want to make up a good one], Aisai, Aisai�s Mom [who is also Tom�s mom. See, they are siblings.], Niece C�s pal from school, and me.

The place was called Marvin�s and it is actually up in Tennessee before you get to Fayetteville. The actual place its located in is something like Poke City, or some odd freakism.

The food was an all you can eat catfish, meatloaf [and don�t diss the meatloaf], fried chicken [which I didn�t see], cornbread, beans, greens, fresh mashed potatoes, etc. I was in heaven.

Aisai, not doing the country comfort food thing, ordered a filet mignon that was only $8. This steak was the best steak I�ve had in a decade, possibly my entire life, but it wasn�t mine so I only got a bite.

The most standout thing was what Tom�s wife and Aisai called Butter Cobbler. See, if it�s cobbler, for those of you in city areas, it�s like fruit and some sweet, uh, biscuity stuff. But this was all just butter, sugar, and the stuff. Ooh, I was so full when I started eating it. Good thing I didn�t have to drive, ha.

Saturday we slept late and then did some grocery shopping. That night, though, we had a get together at J & M�s house where we played cards. Poolphish actually asked if I could go home so he could try the game Venture, a card game made by 3M back in 1970. It�s a killer game and he was very pleased with it.

We played cards until 11 p.m.

Sunday, I didn�t have any duties, but the church elders have looked into it and we�ll be buying some land for a new church. It seems that with modern building techniques that we can make what we need for around two million dollars where it would cost that much to keep the old building going for another 10 years and, with Lowe�s moving in next door, the property value is close to a million dollars even if they just tear down the church and build an Applebee�s or so.

I�m looking forward to the new building. One of the sites we might buy land in is across from the new Toyota engine plant. Hoo hoo.

I�ve been out in the field all day today. I�ll do a little lab work, then go buy some stuff and do some more fieldwork. Then, when I get back, hopefully I�ll have enough time to finish my lab work�but if not, the samples can �settle� until tomorrow.

Didn�t see any movies this weekend. In fact, the replaytv still has The Chronicle from last weekend on it as well as the one from this weekend. I need to rip the CDs I checked out from the library.

I ripped a Los Straitjackets CD I borrowed from TC and a Moe CD and a Phish CD that I borrowed from Poolphish.

I think we�ll play cards at J & M�s house this Thursday, too. It was really fun. I almost won one game.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com