PREV & NEXT

Undead Loach and Public Nudity
8/2/1

The internet sure is messed up today. I suppose it�s the people who didn�t pay attention and Code Red V.2 is eating them alive. My startup page is Google, and it wasn�t responding.

Diaryland wasn�t responding either, but I have faith that it will be up soon.

This entry is one where I wrap up some loose ends and take care of all the random notes that I�ve made.

The most significant weird thing that has happened is the loach coming back to life, if that is what she has done.

The loach that the guramis didn�t kill [as opposed to the one they did kill], or perhaps they have killed her by now, was lying dead on the bottom of the tank last week. Sure, I should have scooped her out, but I didn�t since I had to get to work. The only other fish in the tank with the dead loach are the two guramis, which I hate since they have killed so many different fish, all of which I like much more than them.

Last night, about 10 days after we first noticed that she was dead [I still hadn�t scooped her out, lazy me], and this whole time she has been lying on her side on the bottom of the tank, lifeless, she came back to life.

There is a chunk missing from the side of her head, so I really think she is dead. In any case, she did crazy swimming, flipping in circles and splashing at the top and diving to the bottom, crazy style. And then, after that, she�d go dead again and float to the bottom and lie there.

She did it twice last night. We were freaked out. Aisai just called me now and said, �You have got to get that fish out of there. It�s freaking me out.� So obviously it did it this morning too. Aisai suggested calling The Aquarium Shop, who gave us the lame advice that Guramis get along with everyone, and ask them about it. I asked if the loach still had a piece missing out of its head. She said, �Oh�yeah.� and I suppose decided that calling wasn�t a good idea.

I�ll get rid of Mrs. Loach when I get home.

Another odd thing was on July 27th when I was on 565, on the elevated portion; I was behind a pickup truck with a lot of junk in the back of his bed. The eddies in the back of the truck from going 65 mph whipped an empty coke bottle into the air. It almost flew above the level of the roof of the cab. However, when it got high enough, the wind flowing over the truck took over and made the bottle face so the pointy end was forward. The pointy end was also slightly down, and once the wind had caught it, it glided forward, through the little open window in the back of the truck, and into the guy�s cab.

He looked at the bottle and kept driving.

Hmm, it seemed more interesting when I actually saw it.

Another road tale, and possibly less interesting, is that I saw a Lexus SC300 with a personalized license tag that read �SC 500�. They only make the 300 and 400. The 300 is a V6 and the 400 is a V8. This person was a poser.

The most interesting road tale, and Aisai saw this, was on the way to church last night. I looked over off the side of Mastin Lake Road at some apartments and asked Aisai if I was actually seeing a female with no shirt on. I was. She was covering her breasts and she got out of a large 1970s car walked toward the apartments. She was not unattractive, but perhaps should learn a little something about modesty.

She was also wearing jeans which were too large for her and barely were held up by her hips. I don�t understand the situation which was going on, nor do I really want to, but the young lady, in her early 20s, managed to walk into the apartment with enough calmness and dignity that it really didn�t stand out that much.

And speaking of apartments, that is what is going in at the intersection of Madison Pike and Slaughter. Aisai and I were hoping for a shopping center with maybe a movie gallery in it. Rats.

And speaking of movies, I heard a radio ad for the movie Vertical Limit, starring Robin from Batman, where they said that Robin was looking on K2 for his �estranged sister.� I had to make a note to look up what estranged meant. I�ve always heard the term used with divorces. Sure enough, it means, not just separated, but having a mutual hatred for one another. Lovely.

And my last tidbit from my notes, yesterday, when I was listening to 93.3, the 70s and 80s station here, though I only listened for about a total of 30 minutes to them all day, I heard the song �The Boys Are Back In Town� twice.

One of the reasons that I liked No Count Dance Party at Antennaradio.com so much was that it introduced me to oldies that I didn�t know. And from the 1950s, which were very misunderstood. I�d have to say that the 1950s is one of the most mangled in history. I think it was the overly sanitized television. But hey, Father Knows Best rules.

And speaking of TV, I watched two movies, or really 1.5 movies, yesterday. I watched the DVD of Attack On Precinct 13 that I borrowed from TC about a month ago. And I have to say that it wasn�t Precinct 13, they were at Precinct 9.

["It was so Precinct 13. Wasn't 9 the one they were moving to?" - Aisai, after reading this.]

And then after we got home from church, I watched about half of Get Carter. Not the new Stallone Get Carter, the older, English, classic Get Carter. And it�s quite racy and Turner South left quite a bit of questionable stuff in. However, it was broadcast at 11:30 pm, and called the Fluff and Fold movie.

What is with that? Fluff and Fold is daytime, not nighttime. If there was a Fluff and Fold time at night, it would be Sunday night when the workers of the world are trying to get their little outfits ready for the work week.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com