PREV & NEXT

Rancid Cat Food and Sit-Ups
7/31/1

It appears that my attempt to curry Google�s favor has not yet paid off, or will never pay off.

I�m a little cynical today. I took some sick leave this morning due to a bad headache and now I�m here, feeling disoriented, but with no headache. I do feel draggy, though, mainly because I�ve slept over 12 hours last night.

The attempt to get on Google�s list again was done by adding a little Google site search thing on my archive page. However, Google hasn�t crawled as of yet. Even if you search the Stuffo for the world stuffo, you get no results. And trust me, I do think I know that the word stuffo is on every page.

I don�t know why Google removed me. I can only think that maybe the server was slow or down in the fraction of a second that Google spidered through. Oh, well.

Aisai and I walked last night. We got to a late start since we had to run out to Target to get some cat food. When I got home, the cats didn�t have any food so I opened a new bag and it smelled odd. Odd like rancid.

Mouse and Velly are not stupid and didn�t eat it. I was playing GT3 and waiting for Aisai to get home from work and I noticed this horrid smell. I finally tracked it down as being the cat food. It was not merely rancid; it was really quite smelly and rancid. I poured it into the kitchen garbage and took the garbage out and called Aisai.

She really didn�t want to stop on her way home, so we agreed to go out later.

Zapato did eat some of the rancid food while it was out. She�d alternate burying movements toward it and actually eating a little bit. She ended up sitting on me, quietly, and feeling bad. Even when Aisai started making dinner, Zap didn�t leap into the kitchen to beg. Instead, she started to and got as far as the armrest on the couch and then realized she felt bad and ended up sitting there. Poor baby.

Aisai looked at the calories of the meal she had planned and instead of us both having it, she gave me this big salad and said, �I�m sorry, this only has 340 calories. I�m going to have some ravioli.�

I�d really be surprised if that salad did have 340 calories. It really wasn�t filling. I ended up eating a lot of saltines afterward.

Target was less crowded than it was on the VIP day. Aisai wanted to look at small calendars that would fit in her purse and something else, so it took longer than just grabbing the bag and leaving.

I thought the cat food still smelled bad when we got home, but hey, maybe that�s just the way it smells now. I�ve never noticed it smelling that way before. Maybe I�m overly smell conscious.

We walked after that. We did one mile in 18.5 minutes. Not quite a stroll, more of a shopping walk. And I don�t mean a grocery shopping meander, that�s quite slow. The shopping walk would be defined as moving from one area to another while not interested in anything in between. It would be slower than my �getting stuff done� walk, which is about what we need to do to reach the first goal of two miles in 32 minutes.

My Japanese pedometer, which I assume reads in meters, read 1263 meters for our mile. That�s a little off since a mile is actually 1609 meters. But then again, it�s only 21% off, not bad with no calibration at all. I think I�ll adjust the little thing. It�s the only adjustable thing on the unit, so it must be for leg length. I picked up this thing at the infamous Unclaimed Baggage in Scottsboro, AL, which is not nearly as cool as Oprah made it out to be.

And I don�t watch Oprah, let�s get that taken care of. However, I won�t make a speech about how the Rosies and Oprahs of the world are dumbing down the mothers out there. I could, but I wont.

[paragraph ranting about how evil Rosie is has been deleted]

Now I�m drinking decaf coffee with chocolate flavored creamer and brown sugar rather than having lunch. I have a little fieldwork now too, but I couldn�t find my sunglasses. I have the mirrored safety glasses that I was given here at work, but they are a little too bizarre.

I also did the sit-up and stretching portions of the plan I�m doing. Stretching is fine. But sit-ups, oh, I�m so out of shape. The instructions were to do some until it hurt and then rest for two minutes, then another set, another wait, another set. I did 13, 10, and 12. Yuck. According to the plan, an acceptable level for my age is 40 in two minutes. I really expected to be starting at the higher portion of that.

Aisai has asked if I could do something. Back in May, I kept track of everything that I ate. In August, I�m going to keep track of everything that I spend. This should be quite telling.

May�s results were that I eat pretty good except for eating out. I do consume about 3.7 diet drinks a day which saves me 19,000 calories every month. But like I�d really drink about four regular drinks a day.

I need to start drinking more water too. It�s cheaper and if I can get a little more healthy feeling, I�ll get so I can take in the huge amounts of salt that my kimchi bowl noodle et al has.

Ok, fieldwork with no sunglasses, here I come.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com