PREV & NEXT

J-Park, Where Did Your Mother And I Go Wrong?
7/20/1

When I left work, I needed to go by an ATM and get the cash out, and then pre-buy the tickets.

I love non-payday weeks. We have �the allotment� which is the amount of money that we spend on stuff and groceries, etc, everything not a special purchase or bills. On payday weeks, I have to wait until Friday, which is payday. On non-payday weeks I can take the money out on Thursday.

Up the Parkway and do the U-turn at Drake to get to the Bruno�s that they are changing into a Food World. I noticed when I got in the parking lot that there were about 5 times more cars in the lot than there normally would be. I parked and looked at my watch to see if it was the end of the month, which I kind of knew it wasn�t. It wasn�t.

That Bruno�s is also one of the places where you can renew your car tag. But you�ll have to wait in line. If you actually go downtown you can just get the thing quickly.

I got out of the car and looked at the building. Uh, I forgot that it was closed while they remodeled everything. The ATM near the west entrance is my favorite ATM of all time. I even forgive it for beeping as if to say �The money is in the open� when it spits out your money.

So, I�m a quarter mile from my bank. Do I go to that one? No, I head off North since that is where the movie theater is and there�s a bank on the way. Got money. Got Tickets.

I get home and go upstairs to rip some CDs. I start ripping one and start listening to the Sergio Mendez & Brazil �66 CDs that TC let me borrow. Seems that Pretty World is the only really good song, but I�ll rip some of the more catchy tunes also.

Aisai gets home and screeches from downstairs. I pause the music, boost my adrenaline levels, and shout, �Are you OK?� She was, she was just yelling �Hey, there.�

Then we saw Jurassic Park 3, and I can�t ruin the movie, since there is nothing to ruin. I was disappointed.

Is it better than JP2 or JP? No, it�s worse. Tia Leoni�s character is a moron, a cruel heartless moron.

Ok, so you see your 8-week dead boyfriend hanging from a tree, and you get upset that your son is missing, and you already knew that.

The action scenes were weak. The CGI was at a 1995 theater or a Xena standard. This was a true B-movie.

One of the weaknesses of all the Jurassic movies is that they never kill the dinosaurs. �It�s their nature. We should love them unconditionally.� And then the raptor eats your mother. At least this one didn�t have the preachy Jeff Goldblum, which the movie even pointed out as preachy.

The next J-Park movie should be Alan Grant getting stuck on Isla Nebula (*yawn*) and his bouncer son getting a call in a seedy bar and hearing that his daddy in trouble. Billy Bob Bouncer picks up his pump action shot gun and says to the barmaid, �Let�s go get daddy.� And wipes away a tiny tear with his nicotine stained finger.

I didn�t play Gran Turismo when we got home. Oddly, Aisai played on the Playstation. She got out Dino Crisis, which I own, and got as a gift, but never played really. Dino Crisis has it right. Raptor jumps out at you, shoot them. Repeatedly.

When I was watching her play, just in passing, at one point she downed a raptor and then walked so her leg was in front of it�s mouth. Well, guess what it did. It bit her in its dying moments. Ha!

I was upstairs ripping CDs on The Buggiest Computer Ever Made. I only had to reboot about five times total. There was something about Music Match Jukebox and Edie Brickell�s first album�s first track, 28 seconds into the track the computer would freeze. And I mean freeze. Push the button freeze.

NT spoils me at work. It�s so stable.

At ten, I got ready for bed and Aisai managed to put her game down. Sleepy sleep.

I don�t remember the alarm going off at 5:30 but I sat up at 5:33 and looked at it and it was unarmed. I stalled around so I�d be too late to eat cereal and then got two breakfast burritos on the way in to work.

Labman isn�t here today, so I�m running the lab. Friday is a good day for him to be gone since I only have minimal stuff to do. It�s only about three hours of work. TC is also gone today, but the secretaries can do what he does. TC just has a calmness that makes the average citizen stop bickering.

The plans for tonight are to go to Hel-Mart if we feel like it and get groceries and an extension cord for the headphones. We�ll have Charmed, Farscape, and Battlebots. Ok, so only I�ll have Battlebots, but Aisai will get called into the room when there is a brutal hit or something. The season opener was killer. Also, I must must must watch Assault On Precinct 13 that I borrowed from TC.

Aisai also borrowed Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon from a co-worker. We need to pack the PS2 up and show that to Aisai�s mom.

Boring entry, I know. But it beats me telling you which cars I think should be in GT4.

[See, GT had 150 cars. GT2 had 600. GT3 has 150. Now, I�m hoping that GT4, which is named Gran Turismo Network currently, will have at least 400, and put some good cars in it.]

Stuffo Radio got a bit of a shake the other day. Still mostly the same 5 hours of music, but now it�s on shuffle and I took out the station identifications that were bugging me. I�ll have a whole new set going on Monday or Tuesday.

Maybe next time, I�ll talk about our upcoming �Perhaps Vacation�.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com