PREV & NEXT

The Vanity of Gran Turismo 3
7/18/1

Beep-beep, beep-beep, beep-beep. That is what I woke up to.

My normal alarm clock is a tick-tock type. I don�t really think one that depends on the steady supply of electricity would suit my purposes. Well, this one actually has a battery, but I don�t want anything that depends on the utilities. Oh, and I forgot to set it last night.

Conveniently, I took a shower before I went to bed. See, when you shave your head, your head will still make enough of that nice oil that conditions your hair so well, but you have no hair. Mr. Postwood is not fond of the oil head.

So, the beeping that I woke to was my watch telling me to go to work.

I have two alarms that I keep armed on my watch. The Ironman Datalink that I have can have ten different alarms. I�d have more of them active but the Ironman doesn�t have the concept of a weekly alarm like the non-Ironman watches do.

I�m rambling too much.

So, at 6:20 the alarm goes off and I should just hop in l�Kronos and go to work. I brush my teeth. I put on some Old Spice, not my usual deodorant since it is too strong, but desperate times call for desperate measures. I get dressed: blue jeans, black belt, grey pocket t-shirt, and The Shoes That Will Not Die. Glasses rather than contacts.

I ask Aisai what we have that can be eaten in the car. �Hot dog buns�, she replies. I grab two tortillas and a chuck of mozzarella cheese and I�m on my way.

I get here on time, actually one minute early, but the stupid time clock indicates that I�m one minute late.

Oh, and you may say, �Postwood, I though you were exempt, salaried.� I am, but a few years ago one of the secretaries was taking four-hour lunches so they put in a time clock. The irony is that we aren�t required to clock out for lunch. Dur.

But something has me in a funk, not a deep funk, but a funk.

Gran Turismo 3�I was playing�which probably comes as no surprise to you, and I was trying to figure out how to get the �racing modification� upgrade. It�s usually listed in with the ACS, TCS, and weight reduction upgrades. But I bought several cars and they didn�t have it listed.

I even saved my game and took the 70k I had and bought two different S2000�s. I�ve seen an S2000 racecar in the game. Neither had the upgrade.

I got on the internet. And you may want to be sitting as you read this next sentence:

[No, honestly, Postwood. I do all my internet browsing standing up.]

Gran Turismo 3 does not allow the player to get the racing modification on normal street cars.

I�ll be fine. I�ll be fine. Don�t worry about me. I�ve had some time to think on this and consider that it�s just a change in my life that I�ll have to deal with like anything else.

In other news, it seems the preacher at our church has sent out an email virus. I called Aisai and left voice mail telling her. I have web-based email so I just had yahoo scan the attachment. It was all plump and virusy and I deleted it.

And, I know I�ve never asked, but it seems that it�s all the Diaryland thing to do: Hey, sign my guest book.

Actually, after you do that, listen to my radio station. The rottweiler joke should be removed by noon today.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com