PREV & NEXT

Life Is A Rock But The Radio Rolled Me
7/17/1

Stuffo Radio is running nicely. I did have to make some changes to the play list yesterday though. I took out all but one of the Steve Martin bits. The humor is sound, but the sound isn�t music. I was very pleased when I listened to Steve Martin�s Let�s Get Small recently and ended up putting some of the bits on Stuffo Radio. I also took I Will Survive off the air temporarily after TC asked, �I thought Gloria Gainer did that song.� He is right. The MP3 that I used had credited Donna Summer, who has never recorded that song [but Dianna Ross has, but it clearly wasn�t her].

So, on my digital recorder I recorded a message on June the 19th. In this message to myself I say, �How I damaged my nose today.�

There is a trick that I do in the lab. We have powder free gloves and if you stretch them some, you can pull them over your head some. I learned this trick by watching an old Howe Mendell live thing. So, you pull the glove over your head, down past your nose but leaving your mouth on the outside. Then take air in with your mouth and blow it out through your nose, thus inflating the glove.

Since I was demonstrating my trick for the director, I decided to keep blowing the glove up until it popped. Besides, Labman was egging me on. Well, when it popped, the little rolled part of the rubber glove snapped and part of it hit me on the left nostril.

I guess it�s not really a nostril, but a nostril cover part of your nose�my left side of my nose toward the bottom, whatever.

And it took a small chunk out of my nose. Ouch! But it healed back fine with no scar.

Which reminds me�When I was thinking about better questions since there was that batch of lame ones, the subject of scars is always one which gets a good deal of discussion.

87. Do you have any scars? Where are they and how did you get them?

Let�s go from foot to head, shall we. On the bottom of my left foot there is a splinter imbedded. That may not count as a scar, but I�m counting it. On my left leg near the knee there is some damaged skin where I had bicycle accidents when I was a kid and a motorcycle accident as a teen. There is also a small divot to the right of my left knee where a mop bucket, one of those that has the hinge, took a chunk out of me. The hinge closed and just ripped a chunk off my leg as if it was supposed to. Ouch! I have a scar on my right hipbone where I didn�t understand that you couldn�t just walk off the top of a car moving at 25 mph. [It just seemed like we were going so slow�I�m an idiot.] My left elbow has a messed up area all over it where I kept ripping my elbow open during my teen years. A doctor took most of the scar tissue off so it�s smaller now. I have various cat scratch scars on my hands, but they are very faint. I also have a really long cat scratch scar on my chest. I like to think that it is Dakota who made that when I was giving her away, but I think it�s really Zapato losing her balance when deciding I�m a good thing to walk on. I have a chicken pock scar on my forehead above my left eye. And I think that may be it.

No, there are also the scars across my left index, middle, and ring fingers from when I almost had my fingers cut through with a machete. But that�s another story.

On July 11, I made a note saying that there are two identical garage dogs. What that means is that the white dog who is kept in a garage [this is a horrible thing] it�s whole life by the people who live two houses to the south of me, it�s not just one dog, there are two. But they look identical. That�s just horrible.

Also on the 11th, �Hyundai made one of their Tiburons a color of yellow that makes it look like it�s a ten year old car already cause it�s so oxidized [looking].� Those big dummies.

Another question that would be good to have is:

88. Please briefly describe the history of your hair cut.

From birth up to around ninth grade, my hair was about two to three inches long and parted on the left side. It was a cute kid cut, and did it�s job. When I was a high schooler, I grew my hair out, but not really long. During tenth grade, I took peroxide and rubbed it on my hands and then wet the sides of my hair, from the temples back, with it. Thus I had blonde hair on the sides. Since I did this often, it maintained it for a while. And, since it was the late 1980s, that kind of weirdness was fine. After graduation, I let my hair get past shoulder blade length. Once I started in Engineering, I got rid of the long hair and had my boring old hair from my childhood for many years. Then, during the summer of 1994 [I think], when I was working at the vet, I cut my hair to be half an inch long. At that time, it was almost outside the social norm for me to do that. However, now, in the new Mellinium, I have a shaved head and a goatee.

Arreeooooooooo! [at the moon]

Aisai just let me know that, �As much as I love you, I'm not sure I can handle the Stevie Wonder. Just not my bag, man.� So when I do the update of Stuffo Radio, probably late next week, the Stevie will probably drop out.

Except for �I Wish� off Songs in the Key of Life, which I hadn�t ripped at that time. That song reminds me of my childhood, not because of the lyrics, but because I really liked it as a child. I still call Songs in the Key of Life �The Pancake Album�.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com