PREV & NEXT

At Home With Gran Turismo 3
7/12/1

Well, I took the day off to play Gran Turismo 3. Unfortunately, I stayed up so late last night that I didn�t get out of bed until 10:24.

34) How accurate do you keep your watch?

I�m about 24 seconds fast right now. Maybe I�ll crank up the ol� Timex software and update my time using the atomic clocks on the internet the next time I need to get in touch with the CDDB.

Yes, while I�m driving like a madman, or as mad as you can be in my Toyota Vitz Euro Edition [It�s a hatchback version of the Toyota Echo sold only in Japan that I�ve finally jacked up to 207 hp], the computer is hard at work ripping CDs. First it was Steve Martin � Let�s Get Small, then Stevie Wonder � Fulfillingness� First Finale, then the �Mac Daddy� collection of 1980s funk pop that TC made for me, and now I�m ripping Everything But The Girl � Amplified Heart.

If CD-ex does its job, then I won�t have to connect to the internet for the two Alanis Morrisette albums that I have plans for next. The real master plan here is to get a Stuffo Radio station on Live365. I don�t really care how many others listen to it, but Aisai will be able to and she can recommend music.

{shudder}

35) So, what do you think about Gran Turismo 3?

It is exactly what I expected, pure brilliance. However, I was hoping to be blown away, which I�m not, since I had such high hopes for it. Some of the odder things are that things can break away. There are pylons which can be hit. When I was floundering and having to race the Super Speedway track repeatedly for the measely 1000 dollars that it gives you, I would entertain myself by smacking the pylons near the pit entrances and then trying to hit them on the next laps.

Snoop Dogg [and this is probably the only time he�ll be mentioned in the Stuffo] really is a fan of GT too. His song Dogg�s Turismo 3 is right on the money. You can tell by the lyrics that he knows the games, though I doubt he ever went 298 mph in a Honda S2000. Big words there, Snoop.

The soundtrack has around 40 songs, but they cleverly put them in a way you can�t extract them or play them on demand. The closest you could do would be to turn off all the songs except one, then run a replay with the sound effects off but BGM on. However, when I did this to hear Dogg�s Turismo 3, the replay wasn�t long enough, which is odd since I was racing that puny little Vitz around Leguna Seca for two laps.

When my alarm went off telling me to go home from work [the beauty of gadgets] my Vitz was still in a state where my car in the garage [my real car in real life] could probably beat it.

Oh, who am I kidding. It�s the lousy tires I have on the Kronos that limit it the most. And since the Kronos was built with a stainless steel exhaust, I�ll never have a cheap excuse for upgrading it. Besides, it�s pretty well tuned anyway.

Since I�ve gotten GT3, my diet has been rather odd. Aisai was feeling badly last night, so we fended for ourselves. I had two bowls of dry Waffle Crisp and two cold hot dogs. I didn�t eat them together. When I got home from church [where I learned that I will be teaching Sunday school this Sunday], I had another cold hot dog. This morning for lunch, I had a bowl of Cheerios with skim milk, then �

Aisai just called.

The movie starts at 4:50. Final Fantasy. Whoo hoo. I need to put on some normal clothes and eat some real food. Oddly enough, I have a box of Hot and Spicy Bowl Noodle here at home.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com