PREV & NEXT

The Vanity of Idols...and Harry Potter
7/2/1

A regular reader writes in:

In the [last Stuffo, �No Need For Questions. Part II�], you mentioned that you are going to read a Harry Potter book and you also insinuated that you are going to see the movie. Do you feel that Harry Potter is about witchcraft and sorcery? I would like to hear you thoughts on that.

Yes, Harry Potter is about witchcraft and sorcery. It�s key to the story.

In addition, one of my favorite shows, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, has a protagonist who is a witch. The show which is still occupying my attention, another WB creation, Charmed, has three powerful witches as the centerpiece, the main protagonists.

The real key here is not does it contain the concepts of sorcery, but does that really mean anything.

Sorcery is not real.

Oh, I don�t mean that there aren�t substitute teachers out there chanting with their crystals they bought at the mall while they are waiting for another job. Sure there are. Do they get anything out of it? No.

Now, there is no doubt that witchcraft is bad. Look at the bible: Galatians 5:20. I need not say more.

So, now that we�ve established that sorcery is a sin, let�s not practice it. You�ll not find me worshipping dirt, crystals, satan, gaia, or any other fruit loopy stuff like that.

I don�t even believe we should have images of Christ which we look upon and pretend it really represents God�s son. Why? It�s idolatry. We were told not to make idols, and I won't.

I don�t have kids yet, but I�d rather my kid see a movie where Arnold Schwarzenegger kills a few hundred people than a movie which tells them that having premarital sex is ok. Aliens killing innocents is more tolerable than some movie where they glorify drug use.

Why do I say this? Because my kids aren�t going to start killing people, but they may buy into the sex and drugs thing and start doing that.

Where does sorcery fit into this?

Some people will become offended by the appearance of a good witch in a movie or TV show (though The Wizard of Oz always gets a pass). Some will not. My opinion is worth nothing but God�s is. It�s the old �meat sacrificed to idols� (1 Cor. 8:4-9). Romans 14 is also a good chapter to read on this subject. And I�ll always speak where the bible speaks and keep silent where the bible is silent.

Now, what of Superman?

�Well, Postwood. That�s just made up stuff.�

Exactly.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com