PREV & NEXT

Notice Anything Different About That Racoon with the Sombrero?
6/21/1

Monday evening, around 6 p.m., Aisai and I had already eaten and she was weeding the flowerbed in the back yard against the house. I was watering the lawn.

I was actually watering the lawn with a sprinkler set on a sprinkler timer. I had just chosen to lie down in the grass, the dry grass, and listen to the sprinkler and talk to Aisai.

There wasn�t a cloud in the sky and it was a very pleasant 82ish degrees. Aisai planned the placement of our house in the subdivision so that we�d have shade in the afternoons. The neighbor cat, Fidlor, was visiting us and going back and forth from Aisai to me.

I said something that changed the future.

�It�s going to be too hot at the end of June for us to put up a privacy fence. I�d rather just wait until fall.�

Now we have carpet cleaners coming on Tuesday, we�re about to get Aisia�s Camry some new tires, and I bought a Sony CD-RW, 256 megs of RAM, and a new case for my computer.

I have been planning the computer hardware purchase for a little over a year, but I wasn�t comfortable with the prices. The case that I have now isn�t even adequate for the motherboard I have. In order for it to fit, I had to take a little stainless steel cup, like you�d put tartar sauce for fish in, and shape it with a hammer so that it was the right height to hold up one of the drives so it didn�t smash the board. It�s been like that for two years.

The memory has been getting worse over the last year. I�m not saying I don�t have enough processing speed. I don�t play games on the thing. To me it�s a stereo component that can, just barely, connect to the internet. But about half the time or more, sometimes about 4 times out of five, when you turn on the computer, you get MEMORY TEST FAIL.

Memory Test Fail to me has an odd arrangement of words. Maybe �Memory Test has Failed� would be more Standard American English.

Segue: Another odd phrasing�Kimchi Bowl Noodle�I have a Kimchi Bowl Noodle ring which I made as a joke and I currently, after two days have had four other people join. Hilarious.

I had 64 megs of RAM which I bought for around $80 a few years ago. If I bought 64 megs now, I�d pay more for shipping than for the RAM. I got 256 megs for around $55.

The Sony CD-RW is part of my master plan of getting a MP3 player in my car. Though I juggle whether it�s smarter to just get a normal CD player in there. A CD will hold 70ish minutes of music. And a changer for the trunk of the Kronos is cheaper than getting an MP3 player by about 100 dollars. They even make one that will fit with the antiquated cassette deck that the Kronos has right now using the antennae cable as the line in. Go look at Crutchfield�s website.

Why does my spell check know Crutchfield? I dictionaried at www.m-w.com and it didn�t show any meaning. Freakish.

But all that car stereo stuff is in the future. I�m still a Maxell XLII person. Not just a tape person. [insert speech about how buying good tapes is the cheapest upgrade to your stereo system with some Maxell XLII (that is pronounced �Ex el two�) customer loyalty craziness].

Besides, it�s the summer now. All people without tinting on their nearly vertical rear glass and black interiors to their cars think long and hard about having the next car purchase be tinting.

Black interiors on cars are bad hot in Alabama.

The Sony CD-RW was $99 with a $30 rebate. It�s 8-4-32 in the Write-Rewrite-Read lingo. I only mention that it�s Sony every time since I have customer loyalty craziness for Sony also. But I�ve sinned and not bought Sony for all my consumer electronics items.

I do have the Playstation II and the CD changer by Sony. But my cordless phone is a V-Tech, my VCR is a JVC, my TV is a Sanyo, my amp (I have no receiver) is a Realistic from the 1970s, my cassette deck is some freakish single unit 1/3 size component.

Today my over $50 order of bowl noodle will show up via UPS. UPS also says that my memory and drive will show up tomorrow. The case was ordered from some cheesy, fly by night place in Florida. I figure I�ll get it on Tuesday, when the carpet cleaners are invading.

I�ll give the old Stuffo a heads up on what I actually ordered and the story of why I made a $50 purchase tomorrow. That is, if nothing blows up or a raccoon starts playing maracas in the back yard or anything more interesting.

I mean more interesting than the soup, not the raccoon playing maracas. I don�t think anything this year will beat a raccoon playing maracas.

Well, the wheel falling off at 65 mph might, in some eyes. But maraca raccoons are good, not scary.

Maybe a little scary.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com