PREV & NEXT

Chajang Incident II
5/31/1

I knew it, I knew it, I knew it.

Well, I didn�t really know it, but I suspected it. Now that Chajang Incident II has happened, I actually do know it.

If it�s got the word Chajang on it, I don�t like it. It�s freakin� beef fat soup.

Ok, so this bowl noodle didn�t have any English written on it. But when I ordered the it, I knew it was called Sichuan Spicy Chajang Noodle Bowl. I even wrote a Stuffo called �Oily Chyme Will Tell� about how we�d have to wait and see if this new Chajang soup was nasty like the other chajang soup.

The package was very pretty though. Pink lid with little peel up vents rather than my standard �peel back half of lid� type stuff.

Incidentally, I�m eating Kimchi Bowl Noodle now, which is not nasty at all, thank you.

I can�t help but notice that Kimchi Bowl Noodle has most of the writing on the outside in English.

In any case, I overmicrowaved the water for my soup first. It was at a good, hearty boil, especially for a microwave. The bottom of my Starvin Marvin brand Fill-Em Up Club style microwaving cup has a more convex bottom now.

That error did not affect the taste. The next mistake I made was to pick theSichuan Spicy Chajang Noodle Bowl as my luncheon selection today.

I noted the cute pink cover with the little vents. I used my blade, which used to be for cutting the edges off maps, to open the shrink-wrap. I opened the bowl and there were three little packets.

Two of the packets looked normal. One was frosted white and not completely opaque. It contained the particles, such as fake meat, fake other stuff, etc. I opened this and added it onto the hockey puck of ramen noodles in the bowl. The second packet was, I think, mauve.

I�m a guy. I don�t know mauve. It was like, reddish burgundyish pink. Or pinkish burgundy.

This packet contained the flavor powder. The flavor powder was kind of chunky. As if it has a certain oil content to it. I added this in a big, brown pile on top of the noodle disk.

The next packet was, like, a prophet of packets. A handwriting on the wall type packet. A bad omen packet.

The third packet was full of some sort of liquid. It was a little more orange than honey. I didn�t know if this was a flavor thing you added as an option after you made it or if it was part of the thing.

I added it.

It was oil.

I still hadn�t caught on. I was still looking forward to the soup. I added the water, but not to the line on the side, since it was much too low. I added it to the top of the noodles. How else was the soup supposed to soften the noodles?

As I waited for the soup�s three minutes to do it�s thing, I looked the bowl up on iKoreaplaza and sure enough, it said that it was a microwavable bowl.

I should have added the water to the line and nuked the thing.

After the three minutes, I took the lid off and it looked fine. I stirred it up, and that is when I noticed that it looked just like that other chajang soup.

One bite. Not bad, but not good. I can eat this. I�m not fond of it, but I�m not wasting food.

Second bite. I think I might waste this. This is a little nasty, but not nearly as bad as that first one.

Third bite, which contained a clearish yellow soup chunk bit. Oh, this stuff is so gone. What do those freaks who like this live on, beef fat and gristle? That wasn�t even real gristle; it was fake gristle just like the fake meat.

I have nothing against fake meat.

I put the paper towel that I keep on my right leg while I eat into the bowl and then the paper towel that I set my soup bowl on into the bowl. I got the cute pink bowl cover from the top of my coffee maker where I had set it rather than actually throwing it away.

Down the hall, through the foyer, down another hall, and into the men�s bathroom. I carefully set the nasty soup at the bottom of the garbage can.

Moral: Duh, quit buying the soup with chajang in the title.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com