PREV & NEXT

Tasty udon in BOWL!
5/24/1

I got my Asian food in yesterday. I would say Korean food, but it seems that a lot of what iKoreaplaza has is actually Japanese.

I�m eating Nongshim Tempura Udon Big Bowl (but the package itself says Big Bowl Noodle Udon Flavor) right now.

And let me get this out right now: The internet people sure aren�t making it easy to learn Asian foods. Here are some snippets of what I�m learning.

Wakame is not a type of seaweed. Wakame merely means �sea vegetable� so it�s actually more general than saying seaweed. The time before this time, I ordered a three pack of instant wakame soup. It�s nasty. Take some Hartz fish food flakes and put them in boiling water and it would be better.

Udon is not really a flavor. Udon is a type of noodle like ramen is a type of noodle. The Tempura Udon Big Bowl that I�m eating has much larger noodles than the ramen noodles. Also, the ramen I�ve had tends to be a little oilier than this. Well, actually this is rather oily, but that is because it also had about 6 nuggets of tempura fried noodles in it.

Thumbs up on the Nongshim Tempura Udon Big Bowl. It also has those funny molded shapes that often taste like shrimp or crab in it. There�s lots of seaweed too, but not in big obnoxious pieces.

That�s what got me looking up seaweed nutrition. And, lo and behold, there is none. It�s like eating grass. Well, unless you really chow down, and then it�s like eating seaweed.

This has a really nice flavor. I�m at the point that I�ve eaten most of the noodles and I have to drink the broth now.

On Tenchi last night, the two galaxy police gals were working two part time jobs and eating a lot of bowl noodle. They were in that odd trap that some people fall into where they are unhappy since they are worked too much and thus compensate by spending money, thus making them have to work more.

Aisai and I don�t do that, but two weeks ago we stole from our future selves. We�ve recovered now, and have said we won�t do that again. We hadn�t done that in a few years.

And I was going to bash Emeril, but I forgot what about. He�s a moron for taking the NBC sitcom. But there was something else.

I was going to make the Nongshim Saengsaeng Udon Bowl today but here is what the instructions say:

�OPEN LID, ADD BOILING WATER AND STIR WELL, POUR OUT WATER, ADD NOODLE, ALL SOUP BASE AND BOILING WATER, LEAVE FOR 1 MINUTE, STIR WELL AND ENJOY.�

Yeah, ALL YOUR SOUP BASE ARE BELONG TO US.

Now, I work in a lab on a regular basis, heck a mundanely regular basis, and I know that there needs to be a time limit on the first water thing. At first, I thought they were crazy with adding water and then removing it, but this package touts itself as fresh:

�Tasty fresh udon noodles in an instant in a convenient BOWL!�

Their choice of capitalizations and punctuation. I copied it off the webpage.

So if the noodles are fresh, that explains their weight. This bowl weighs about four times the amount of a kimchi bowl noodle bowl. I�m thinking that you add the boiling water to heat the noodles, then you pour it out and take the noodles out of their package and then make the soup by pouring the boiling water on the noodles again.

I added that deck of Korean playing cards to my order too. They were in the box that UPS delivered at 5:38 yesterday afternoon. I looked at them and was immediately disappointed. They were � the size of normal playing cards.

Then I opened the box. They were like tiles. They are about 4 times thicker than normal cards. They are chits.

I�m surprised that Microsoft Word knew that word.

There are two games that you can play with them: Go-Stop and Ryukbaek. The cards are odd and cryptic. I think I may have to get Aisai�s brother a set for Christmas.

And yes, I start buying Christmas gifts during the summer. I like to be finished by the end of October. In fact, after Thanksgiving, I don�t like to get out into prime shopping areas.

Nearly all shopping I do for Christmas is on the internet anyway.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com