PREV & NEXT

A Tale of Two Turtles
5/22/1

Ok, back on Friday, German Shepherd on the Parkway Day, as I was leaving work, I rescued a turtle.

I�ve gotten used to rescuing turtles so this wasn�t such a big deal. The only novelty of this rescue was that the turtle peed all over the road.

The very first turtle that I rescued urinated on my right leg. Since then, I�ve always been mentally prepared for them to let fly with the dirty water.

There aren�t too many euphemisms for urine, are there.

He was about 8 inches by 6.5 and mostly clean. Many of the turtles in the area get lots of moss on their backs. He was on the south side headed north and I picked him up.

As soon as he was a foot off the ground, he sprung a leak. He wasn�t peeing out the back like a normal turtle, but must have had his little turtle man parts aimed to the right.

He�d been drinking a lot that morning, or holding it for a while, since he was able to make a urine line across the entire road. I set him down on the north side.

On my way out, I saw what T-boss thought was a dead bobcat. It was a raccoon. A rather raccoony looking raccoon. I�m not sure how he mistook it. Then again, he thought that a squirrel was an opossum recently.

Over the weekend there was another turtle on the road. On Sunday morning, on the way to church, there was a box type turtle on one of the Old Madison Pike bridges. He was facing the wall, and there is no where to stop around there. I didn�t stop to help him. But at least he was in a part where if he were to get hit, the car would also have to eat some concrete off the side of the bridge too.

Aisai said he already looked hit. I didn�t notice this.

That evening, he seemed to be facing a little more west than he had been earlier in the day, but still in the same place. His head was still up, and I could tell this. And I didn�t see any smooshedness, but then again, he had been sitting there for a while.

Monday on my way home from work, he was in the same place, same direction, but his head was down.

I think maybe Aisai did see it right the first time.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com