PREV & NEXT

The Bleepin' Beeping
5/16/1

Beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep beep.

It beeps about every � second.

My wall is beeping and it�s driving me crazy. Really, I�m quite edgy about the whole thing. I�ve only listened to it for around 20 minutes so far. I�m trying to get mentally prepared to listen to it all day. Maybe some fieldwork will pop up.

Yesterday the FBI and HPD and some contractor installed something at the top of the hill. We know that it�s a bomb disposal chamber, but they are saying it�s an FBI evidence storage facility. Yeah, one that looks like a big steel box with reinforced sides and has no climate or humidity controls.

In my office, I have what we call the network server. It is covered by a big ugly piece of wood, and hangs on the wall. It�s not really a computer, but a big old hub. Once our connection gets to the box in my office, it�s fiber optic until you�re downtown, or possibly until we hit the Sprint backbone that Hiwaay is connected to. I dunno. Don�t care.

Will the beeping never stop?

On the other side of the wall, in a closet type room with access only from outside the building, is the phone system. It�s a horrible mess of 2000 and 1960s technology with colored wires popping out like�cannot find�humorous�thing�.beeping�wont�stop�

In any case, since if someone breaks into the box on the hill it will call the HPD, it is tapped into our phone system. I noticed it beeping every once in a while during the installation yesterday. But after the contractor guy came in and used the phone, there was no banging, knocking, or beeping from back there.

Is that blood coming out of my ears?

But now it beeps. You can hear it from down the hall. When Princess Fluffy, the receptionist or whatever she is, gets here, the number of people who are going crazy from this will increase by 50% and there will be three of us loonies.

She just showed up. Her gripe was why do we have the bomb disposal unit here at our place when HPD owns land blah blah blah.

I just want the beeping to stop.

And speaking of beeping, I got a new pager yesterday. My old one had a little LCD thingy go out so you couldn�t tell a 3 from a 5 on the second number in the phone number. The new one is smaller, lighter, and has three buttons rather than two. It has memory and folders and multiple rings and vibration. It�s also much more confusing and, frankly, I actually like a rather simple pager.

It�s an hour later now. I was in the lab. I forgot about the beeping.

I just put in a call to the contact at HPD we were given in case there was any problem. Maybe I�ll get a call back soon.

In the meantime, I�m hiding all the sharp objects and people�s necks so I don�t pull a Joe Peschi on anyone.

The beeping�the beeping�

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com