PREV & NEXT

Banner, No Gas, and Family Stuff
5/1/1

Right after I start having my banner be displayed here at Diaryland, I break format. Not only that, but I blather on and on about cars. So, here is me getting back to normal.

This is the banner that is getting more traffic in here:

Yesterday afternoon, I go into the lab to do my lab stuff. I centrifuge my samples and start titrating them. After I finish titrating �38�, I go to the fume hood and crank up my little Bunsen burner to boil sample 38. I�m talking with Labman and Schnauzer Gal, and I notice that my burner is going out.

The gas has been cut off in some way. I can�t finish my lab work.

I finish titrating the others, so just in case they can get the gas turned back on I can finish, but no gas. Good thing these analyses are for process control and not on our permit.

We had dinner with my parents. Since Sunday was my mom�s birthday, I took mom and dad out to Green Hills Grill. I think Green Hills Grill actually puts an �E� on the back of their name so it�s Green Hills Grille. Hey, it was in the spell check that way. Freakish.

Mom and Dad seemed more rested than I�d expect for two people who closed on a house a few hours earlier and moved all their stuff over the weekend.

The food was good. Because I can�t do math I accidentally tipped the gal 23%. It isn�t really not being able to do math, I just wanted to round to the nearest unit of five dollars.

Afterward we went and looked at their new house. It was built in the 1960s or early 1970s. It doesn�t have those big windows which were popular then, but does have a brilliant backyard. If Wifey and I don�t build our own house next, then we really must move into a house with mature trees.

Some of their new house is freakish, though. The Yellow Hallway which leads back to the 16 by 22 foot master bedroom. That�s a little freaky. Yellow is used way too much in this house. It is as if the previous owners had too many rods or cones or whichever eye parts make you see yellow. Or maybe too few of them.

I like this house better than any of their houses since Bluewood. Heck, I may like it more than Bluewood. I didn�t like the layout of our house on Bluewood since the master bedroom was on one floor and our bedrooms were on another. The layout really segregated us. Having a computer and TV upstairs with me didn�t help either.

One of the ideas that I have for the house that I build is that I want all the bedrooms clustered together. In fact, I don�t really want a hallway to connect the rooms. I want a room that all the bedrooms connect to. In that room I want a table and chairs and a couch and some cheap-but-comfy chairs. It would be the room that we see each other in first thing in the morning and last thing at night. It will be separated from the rest of the house by a hallway that somehow limits the view into the family area. One of the bedrooms off the family room hub will be a laundry/utility room that will also probably have an exit to the garage.

And courtyards, I�ve got to have courtyards.

And while I�m dreaming, I wish I had a pug dog with wings on it�s back.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com