PREV & NEXT

TV Talk
4/23/1

I�m waiting for the insurance company to get my car situation figured out, so I thought I�d write about something.

Looks like The WB lost Buffy the Vampire Slayer. UPN has bought it. Now, Sarah Michelle Gellar was saying that she would jump ship if Buffy went to any other station besides WB. I guess we�ll see.

This makes for an interesting and new UPN. No more Voyager, but Buffy and Star Trek Enterprise should be showing up this fall. I really hope that Enterprise doesn�t suck.

This also leaves Angel, still with The WB, in an odd limbo. Angel will lose market share due to the loss of the Buffy lead-in, but is still a solid performer. With the cash that WB had left since Buffy�s 1.5 million per episode is off their backs, they are making a show called Smallville, which is about Superman as a teen. Could be good, probably will be bad. They are also making a show about a rock band who goes around solving mysteries. Hmm, maybe they need a great Dane and a flat fronted Chevy van too.

Speaking of TV, the Replay TV will have Space Ghost recorded. I don�t know why cartoon network doesn�t show that more than once a week. It only comes on Sunday nights after 10 pm. I�m not sure of the exact time, as the Replay TV catches it.

The Replay TV recorded some lame, staged show called Junkyard Wars since it contained the word rally. They built some real crap and then allegedly raced them. The similarity to rally racing was there, but WRC cars go around 110 mph for hundreds of miles and may have mechanical breakdowns. These cars were going several hundred yards and having mechanical breakdowns.

What else do I watch, you ask? If Battlebots would start a new season, I�d get that. They had the competition that will make up season three at the end of March. Wednesday morning the Replay TV will get Buffy and Angel. We don�t have a WB channel, but since Fox actually makes Buffy and Angel for WB, the local Fox affiliate shows them at 3:30 in the morning with the WB labeling still attached.

One nice thing about Buffy getting on UPN is that the reception will be clearer. What is the point of recording at high quality with a digital recorder if I�m getting a scratchy videotape?

Currently only The Keepers, a show about the San Francisco zookeepers, comes on Tuesday.

Wednesday night Voyager comes on. There are only six or so episodes left and I think they are going to be really lame and not have Voyager get home, but just show us that it eventually will by having some time-traveling aliens put Janeway on trial. How lame can you get?

Thursday gets The Early Show with the Survivor preview, Survivor, and the next morning it gets The Early Show which has the bootee from Survivor. Friday is also Farscape and on Sunday we get Futurama. Somewhere on the weekend we also get Car and Driver Television, Motorweek, and Hot Shots.

Daily we record Tenchi in Tokyo, and my �I�ll see it if I feel like it� show is Street Smarts.

I also have some �traps� which will catch shows with certain topics. I have a rally channel which will record any show which has the word rally in it. Just to make sure that I get it, I also have one called FIA World Rally Championship, which records at high quality. I search for Akira Kurisowa, Gellar, Luc Besson, Steve Martin, Straw (for Straw Bale Houses), Sumo, and Farm Report.

These are the only shows that I watch. I started not watching live TV back in my webtv plus days. When it�s all recorded, you can skip the commercials. I consider skipping the commercials to be beating the system.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com