PREV & NEXT

Two Dreams: House and Job
4/20/1

If only I could draw, really draw architecture.

I had a dream last night. It was a dream that made me feel that Wifey and I had it all together again. What I mean by having it all together is feeling like our finances, etc, are under control.

Not that they aren�t now, it�s just they are very static. I�m not wishing for them to be dynamic, as I know which direction that always tends to go.

In my dream we moved into this groovy, three story apartment. The apartment was round, at least from the outside, and the windows opened to a large courtyard which showed us the other cylindrical apartments which were attached to the main, possibly C shaped, building.

Our apartment may have been three stories tall, but it started on the third floor and went 3-4-5. We had initially moved our master bedroom into the second floor, but after I caught the view of the third floor for a while, we decided to move up there.

This isn�t the first �liberating dream� I�ve had lately. I also dreamed that I got a different job.

The job was that of a researcher. Since my expertise is in chemical engineering, I was expected to have at least one significant discovery in that area during the next decade. The work environment was very relaxed person wise, and very cluttered machinery wise.

An interesting thing was that in our office, if you can call the building that, there was only one computer able to access the http portion of the internet. We all had email addresses.

In fact, my boss told me the top five people in my field at American universities and told me that I should email them on a regular basis.

Well, though I was supposed to research my own stuff, I got too interested in an offshoot of what some gal who was trying to flirt with me was researching. The term she used was �Plasma Restructuring�, but I didn�t hear much about it since I mentioned my wife after a few minutes. The gal grabbed my hand and pointed at my left ring finger. I said, �I only weighed 140 pounds when I got married. The ring doesn�t fit.�

The dream research facility I worked at was also very gender segregated. We called the female researchers who weren�t in our team �the gals�.

What I got hung up on was manipulation of the visible electromagnetic spectrum. I researched it for a while and then was brought before the powers that be. They told me that they didn�t mind me messing around with other stuff, but if I was going to focus on this, they wanted a working unit by May.

May? Yikes. I talked to my boss about it and he said that I should call around. The budget was very robust, so I could make some major moves if I needed to. I called Teledyne Brown Engineering and got hold of the fellow who is in charge of that for them.

Let me remind people here that I�m talking about a dream. I know I mentioned a real company, but that is because that company was in my dreams.

The lead guy on VEMS manipulation for camouflage purposes was younger than I by about three years. I offered him a job at our facility. �Who are you guys?� He asked.

�I can�t tell you. But we�re the government.�

The cylindrical apartment in the courtyard was great and I�m still feeling up from it. The research job was also a great dream; I was up for a day because of that.

I think I may have to do more with my life. I�m just not sure whether it is good for me to seek something like this. Is it greed? Not for money, but for experience. Is it a �challenge greed�?

I still sometimes think about joining the Navy. The pay is crap. They move you around constantly. But for the Civil Engineering Corps they will take a person as old as 34. But I�m not sure they would really challenge me that much. They claim they will. But then again, people say that OCS is hard.

Heck, if it was really hard, I wouldn�t see officer bozo wandering in his idiot stupor, would I?

Perhaps I should have some coffee, before I get in trouble.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com