PREV & NEXT

The Vanity of Soup
4/12/1

I got my car back. I didn�t laugh out loud like I did the last time I got my car back, when I was forced to drive a Geo Metro, but I did say the equivalent of Bwah Ha. Now I remember why I have a fiberglass car that everyone complains is too low.

But I want to talk about food.

On Monday, I ran out of kimchi bowl noodle. I had bought a box of twelve from an internet grocery a month ago and have been mostly eating that and bowl noodle hot for lunch.

I don�t pick the order of the words in the names, the product has it printed on the top. In fact, bowl noodle hot is actually yukgaejong men. But I can�t remember it that quickly and am unsure of my pronunciation.

I got the thumbs up from my accountant and went to an online Korean grocery store and spent $33 on random soups. I got another box of 12 kimchi bowl noodle. I wasn�t as fond of the bowl noodle hot as I have been of the same name in another brand. I got some shin ramen, which I don�t know what it is. Some blue crab ramen bowl and two others which also cost nearly two dollars for the bowl of ramen. I filled out the order with some soup mix, cinnamon punch, rice punch, and plumb candies. That should keep me fed at lunch for a while.

The people I work with know that I don�t eat at lunch except that I have to. No one ever asks me if I want Steakout, because, hey, I can�t justify that kind of cash outlay for something that won�t bring me that much pleasure. Besides, it�s all vanity.

I�m teaching the college age singles Sunday school class this Sunday. It didn�t occur to me that it was Easter, so I�m teaching on Ecclesiastes. Only mostly inappropriate. However, in my defense, I reference Romans 14:5,6. I don�t celebrate Easter, but at least it�s one religious holiday they get the date right. If you use Mary�s gestation period and John the Baptizer�s Dad�s time to serve in the temple as a guide, Jesus was born around September 24, 3 B.C.

My spell check suggested John the Appetizer.

And all is vanity when it comes to my eating lunch at work. I really don�t care as long as I get around 500 calories. I�ve eaten cold canned pasta of numerous forms, soybeans, honey roasted soybeans, cup ramen, cans of baked beans, and now I�m on bowl ramen.

Today was more odd than usual since I wasn�t able to eat my cereal this morning and ended up eating 800 calories of honey-roasted soybeans for breakfast. However, I�m spunky like a woodchuck. A woodchuck that stayed up too late last night seeing what Top Gear Daredevil and ATV Offroad Fury are like. Friday is a holiday so I had to get some PS2 games before the elementary school kids could convince their parents to take them by the video rental place.

And speaking of our furry woodland creatures, there was no dead squirrel on top of the overpass as I came into work today.

Who says I don�t have faith in the little man?

And I�m pretty sick of Microsoft Word wanting to change all the words �which� to �that� and wanting to capitalize internet.

PREV & NEXT

Recent Entries: More Stuff:

Diaryland.com